Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


awesomeface340awesomeface340

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 19, 2013

WELL I THINK PORTAL IS AWESOME BUT ITS NICE



Axq132Axq132

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 3, 2011

Cake :D

Finnish the game and you get some! :D



DjRoOJinDjRoOJin

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 27, 2007

level 32

gave up there =( ..... stupid energy ball kept killing me



mewarmo990mewarmo990

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 29, 2007

There's a reason this has such a high score

Just... wow. Most fan-made adaptations of commercial games, such as Unreal Flash, are often decent games in themselves but usually fail to capture the spirit and elements of the source material that made it so fun. Portal: The Flash Version, then, is the rare exception to this rule.

This game is just as addicting as the real Portal, and the gameplay translates surprisingly well into 2D. Basically, read any review about Portal and that will apply to this review so I won't have to say it. =D Basically, it was challenging but never frustrating or boring, although I did consult your video walkthroughs a few times..

My only minor gripes with P:tFV are that the cubes can't effectively block turret shots like in the original game, and more importantly, placing portals can prove to be annoying because the hit detection seems to be a little rough. Areas that should be able to hold portals frequently give me annoying "boop" sounds when the launching fails, so you might want to tweak that in any future work.

Otherwise, splendid job!


People find this review helpful!

AnimalisticAnimalistic

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

Absolutely Awesome

This game was very fun and I thoroughly enjoyed it and the concept of turning portal into a 2D platform great execution and very few glitches. So what if its hard isn't that sometimes the point. Great Job!