Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


AshfordPrideAshfordPride

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Great game! A real head-sratcher!

Man, what an enjoyable puzzle game! It's so fun to just mess around and see what happens! Great job!



FrozenFireFrozenFire

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

BEST GAME EVER.

Amazingly addicting holy shit this is great. Ive been playing for a few hours now and quit after constantly dying on a level in the 30's but it was a blas and im gonna beat it later :P



NinjatasticNolanNinjatasticNolan

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

incredibly fun

The puzzles are amusing but what I like more is just messing around with it.

Some bugs I found:

INSTANT DEATH: on any level jump over the door on the left where you enter and keep holding left. It may take a few tries but you will fall out of the screen and die.

BACKWARDS PORTAL: On a level where there is a wall with enough space for two portals and room to jump put two portals on that wall as close to each other as you can. Jump into the lower one and try to not get spit out by the top one. If you end up standing on nothing you did it right. Now shoot the portal that you are not "standing on" to the same wall you are on. The new portal should be facing the wrong way. If it isn't keep shooting until you get it to look backwards. Now go into the portal you are standing on very slowly. You should be standing on the other one inside of the wall. If you go left from here you die. I've also seen strange things from this like coming out of the front door after reentering the backwards portal.



TrueNinja117TrueNinja117

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Very good

5/5 easily, except I can't get past the first level with the energy field in the middle. I tried making 2 portals on the floor and ceiling, used that to build momentum, then created 1 on the wall so I got launched half-way through just as the portal deactivated, and I couldnt even get a little distance.



SetsumaSetsuma

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Finally... Finished.

Well, it took me a while but I finally finished it and got the cake :) I haven't yet played the real Portal but your game was awesome! Thanks alot for this, kept me entertained for a good 2 hours :D