Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


BerrekBerrek

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 24, 2007

Sweet

Quite a sweet game, really enjoyed it. Certainly a great distraction from writing a paper that much is sure. Some of those levels were really tough.
Controls were fluid and the death animation was quite amusing (those turrets ate me alive).



DarkNightHaloDarkNightHalo

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 23, 2007

A-mazing!

totally freaken awesome game! no bugs/glitches from what i saw, great use of...well everything, controls great, use of the portal system great...basically everything is great! It keeps really well to the way the actual Portal game works, except its not a FPS, thats the only difference...



dandin1dandin1

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 23, 2007

glitches?

this game was a lot of fun but the glitches made it impossible to play at times....make sure to work out all the bugs before you publish your next game.



Deathblade86Deathblade86

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 23, 2007

That was awesome

Even though there were some bugs and glitches, it was awesome.

Well, the only major bug I found was this. If you have the gravity set really low (like, maybe 100 or lower) and you have two portals both facing up, your instinct says to jump into one. well, that causes you to come out of the other one with anti-physics spray on you (:-). You continue up, flying through any walls in your path, and you end up off the screen. sometimes you die, but the times you don't die, you walk right out the front door.

Other than that, and a few other bugs that other people have already told you about, this game is awesome.

Now that the real portal is out, I'm gonna go play that now. See ya.



EduardogdEduardogd

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 23, 2007

My god

This game is very difficult to face! Who here has come to an end?