Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


CssSnake6CssSnake6

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 2, 2008

A legend in the making

You really managed to make a great flash recreation of a great game. Its been on the front page for atleast a month. AND its #2 in the "Best of all time list"
Maybe it will even stay up there as long as all the other great flash we know, such as "dad's home"

great job.
Heres a cookie
*Hands Ido Tal a cookie*


People find this review helpful!
Dragy2005 responds:

Yay, a cookie! *hands all reviewers a piece of delicious caek*


evil-rodaevil-roda

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 2, 2008

Great!

This flash has been on the front page for quite a while. It's because this is a great entry. The only bad thing about it is that I almost destroyed my computer in my frustration. Thank God for those videos, or I wouldn't have a computer!



ArientArient

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 2, 2008

Great game

It was really addicting when i played it, but i got stuck in a couple levels :p hopw you make other games as great as this!



DrunkenLink1167DrunkenLink1167

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 2, 2008

Amazing, 10/10

There is nothing about this submission I didn't like; good sound, good graphics, and the idea is just as fresh as the real game. I'm suprised if the people from Valve don't give you a call and offer you a job or something!



RedWingX-09RedWingX-09

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 2, 2008

The cake is not a lie...

It is REAL!!! Rejoice!!! I think that this version of Portal has some advantages and shortcomings in comparison to the real deal. For one thing, I am pleased to see the crusher in action, even though I miss the lakes of toxic sludge... I like the complexity that you brought to the 2-D simplicity.

I did find a couple of collision glitches - especially in the later levels with multiple boxes - where items thrown through a portal would end up on the opposite end of the map (i.e: a box landing on the top floor of a room when there is no portal anywhere near the area,) and one glitch on level 39 where if you run into the exit you will be randomly transported to the entrance of the level instead of progressing.

All in all, I have to give you a 5/5 for a top quality game!