Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 19, 2007 | 12:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 26, 2007
  • Daily Feature September 20, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

The Composer is an animation following the life cycle of a young boy to adulthood, who uses the purity of music to heal wounds, and inspire the hearts of others.

I sincerely hope you enjoy this, it has taken a lot of work.
Thanks Tom Fulp for your fantastic support, and Francine Louise for your voice talent

Reviews


al2fenriral2fenrir

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 30, 2007

Inspiring

I like the story, it's inspiring, it kinda speaks of reality, in which sometimes you're up and sometimes you're down. That being the case for musicians. Trends also does have influence on music, and has an impact on the kind of music you are promoting, that's true. I'm just glad that he didn't copycat Kurt Cobain's style. lol.

I didn't mind the graphics, it's cool, as long as it's original. The only negative thing I could comment is the speed. Some important scenes occurred too fast, and I kinda miss the important details in the process.

Overall, it's good! Keep up the good work!



TroisnyxTroisnyx

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 3, 2014

I relate to the message that you're aiming to express in this short.

I say so because I am a musician, yet I have suffered, and am still suffering from the abuse and discrimination my parents and other people around me gave me, particularly in order to discourage me from my calling.

The animation is a product of its time, and it is quite alright. Piano playing in some parts seems a bit unnatural -- the body is often rigid while playing, rather than fluid (as it should be).

The music is where I have to gash points, I'm afraid. It felt a tad uninspiring, and for something along the scale of a person's life story and mission, I always look for the spectacular. This wasn't. To me it gave the feel of something off a soap opera.

My mission is to inspire -- thoroughly inspire. Even with all the limitations I have, I yearn to capture hearts. The animation certainly did set out to do this, despite its few limitations. The music, I know it's no Meat Loaf or Enya or Howard Shore. However, it could still do with a lot more grandeur -- and this really threw off the balance for me.

3.5/5.


People find this review helpful!

SausauSausau

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 29, 2008

Too melodramatic

Decent animation, nice effects. The colors are okay. The music is a good point. But, gosh, it's so "mellow", so much melodrama. This is not in my likings. I don't care if people think this is useless, this is my opinion.



Telepathic-ninjaTelepathic-ninja

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 11, 2008

cute

NEEDS MORE EXPLOSIONS

I'm into art but this was emo



Siggy0501Siggy0501

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 29, 2007

Moving

This is a great piece of art.

Your drawing and animation skills are excellent, and I found this to be extremely influential and moving overall.

That being said, I truly abhor the choice in music that you used. Being a fairly decent pianist myself and coming from a family full of musicians, the music choice for this just didn't do it for me.

Keep up the great work!