Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 19, 2007 | 12:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 26, 2007
  • Daily Feature September 20, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

The Composer is an animation following the life cycle of a young boy to adulthood, who uses the purity of music to heal wounds, and inspire the hearts of others.

I sincerely hope you enjoy this, it has taken a lot of work.
Thanks Tom Fulp for your fantastic support, and Francine Louise for your voice talent

Reviews


animatorcjreidanimatorcjreid

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 28, 2007

quite nice

a touching tale expertly told. While the story is very good along with the moving compilation of music, which is the most important and hardest part of telling any story so well done there. The animation throughout was only alright. I liked the reverse action of the arm while he conducted.



wolfkeeperwolfkeeper

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 19, 2008

huh?

Good animation, good music. story was okay.. It was lacking something. It was a bit whiny to me.



AloneInTheDarkAloneInTheDark

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 20, 2007

I can tell why people love it

To start with the positive, i really liked the way you drew and animated the flash. It is a step up compared to paladin and your style starts to feel look pretty professional. The way the strokes were drawn and the good tweening even reminded me of Xombie and that is a big compliment. A few parts were still a bit awkward though, with the arguing silhouettes of the parents looking more like stick figures rather than real proportionate people, or the tiny cars next to the sidewalk.

Since so many people love this flash for it's serious message and content, i thought i'd write a review for it from a slightly other perspective. To be honest, i didn't think it was that special or profound, especially since there are a huge number of cliche scenes and shallow characters that ask a bit too explicit for the viewer's pity. Arguing parents, loner boy with talent, Rise/Fall and a simple moral is not something we haven't seen a lot before. The thing that annoyed me the most though is how there is never really any development and how each scene just passes to reveal the disney ending.

Like the 9/11 flash 'i miss you daddy' that everyone loves, it is a bit too melodramatic and in your face. In my experience, younger people are easily affected by this type of imagery, while adults like to form their own judgement about what's happening and who deserves pity and who doesn't. A good dramatic short contains characters that have weaknesses as well as strengths and that don't drown in self pity, but gradually conquer the viewers hearts while the movie passes. A good recent example is the brilliant movie Babel, with awesome deep characters that we can both love and hate at the same time.

Like i said, this is my take on the flash and the drama genre in general. It is by no means more true or false than the ones of the people who love it, but perhaps you can experiment/do something with it in one of your future films.

AITD


There's some debate, but overall people find this review helpful
Jazza responds:

thanx. BUUUT it is very difficult to do so within the average time frame of a flash animation made for the internet (4-6 mins) and i didnt make this animation to please people, i made it to vent things that were going on in my life, and express how i feel on certain issues.


WallOfEricWallOfEric

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 17, 2008

ITS A CYCLE OF UNHAPPINESS!

i like the part when the guy died



TrickySoupTrickySoup

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 5, 2007

Pretty good.

Nice animation and sound. At times it was a little cheesy and sappy but in ended in a good way.