Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 8, 2007 | 12:50 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 9, 2007
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

IMPORTANT: This is a rather different version of Chapter 1!
The original was released in 2007, but this version was uploaded in 2010. It's basically a 'remake' in many ways, though the plot and events are generally the same.

Unfortunately, your saves from the old version won't work due to the drastic differences behind the scenes, but there are enough differences, I hope, to make replaying worthwhile. Any saves you make in this version can carry over to later chapters properly.

EDIT (21st of August 2010): Sorry, there'd been bugs with this version for a long time! It's because I fixed the bugs on Kongregate and updated the version there, but didn't do so here... Now I have though, so hopefully all problems will be fixed.

Oh, but PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make sure you have an appropriate Flash Player version! There's a screen at the start that warns you if your version is outdated. If this screen appears *at all*, then you may (probably will) experience some bizarre saving problems. Updating your Flash Player prevents them.

Reviews


SoullockSoullock

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

the BEST RPG game yet!

hey, Soullock's here!

I tried this game out because my friend told me to try this. Wow...
I am incredibly blown by how original and creative this game is!
Even with the limitation of Flash software, you still find a creative edge
and wow us with sheer brilliance of your skills!

Graphic:

Very interesting use of graphic. It maybe be pretty basic and simple, but even
simple can be beautiful. Your uses of colors and the animations and the art
direction of 2D sprites and hand-drawings are extremely unique. It also effectively
connect the player to the world and characters, which very few games and films
could actually succeed. WELL DONE! Lags hurt slightly, though you did give up options
to tone down the graphic, I appalled you for that.
Score: 9.7/10

Sound:

also basic, but actually very pleasing and memorable.
There are not a lot going on with the sound, just that they are used what they
should be used: music as background, enemy roars, and characters grunt and
make sound when talks. Wish there are more, but I think I like the sounds being
as simple as it is. Not bad!
Score: 8.5/10

Gameplay:

the gameplay is actually very interesting and feel fresh too. I can see that the battle
system is a unique combination of Final Fantasy, Mario RPG, and DnD. The battles are
actually engaging with the usage of button commands and selecting actions. It hard
to explain, but I actually enjoy this kind of battle. This battle system should be
comparable to Meshria, another excellent RPG series. Also, interacting with NPC
are pretty good, though the dialogues are kinda bland.
Score: 9.3/10

Plot

This plot, I can safely say, is very unique and "out of the world". It remind me of
Meshria, but unique in it own's right! Your beginning sections are actually very smart
inclusion since it effectively connect the player to the characters, especially Mardek
and his best friend. And I didn't except to see such a interesting plot in which Mardek
have a new "inner" friend bonded with him. Also, your villains are so out-of-whack,
it gave a huge laugh as how dyfunctional and crazy those bad guys are x3 it is a nice
change of pace in the mist of many bland and cliche RPG games.
Score: 9.5/10

few words and nothing else:
FREAKING AWESOME GAME!!!

Final Score: 9.4/10 (9/10 newground)

-Soullock


People find this review helpful!

ObeliskosObeliskos

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

Short, but a taste of the awesomeness to come.

PEOPLE, PLAY THIS BEFORE PLAYING CHAPTER 2!! It only makes sense, right? You get a lot of character development in this chapter, so if you skip it, you'll be missing out on a lot!

(not a ten because it's a bit short. I'm picky like that.)


People find this review helpful!

sefirosusefirosu

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

grr

HURRY UP WITH THE NEXT ONE I WANNA PLAY NOW


Pseudolonewolf responds:

HOW'S ABOUT YOU DONATE SOME MONEY THEN?!


flynntaggartflynntaggart

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

Great

The reaction commands is really good , not like others where you just click attack and wait for your next turn , thats boring !

I remember I played something like this , I think it was called the Yalohortian game thingy ? The story of futuristic people coming to a planet for..something to heal their emperor , and there was a dragon too.....and the monastery with green eyed people...if you did created that game , which I think was a demo , post it on newgrounds I want to play it again!!


Pseudolonewolf responds:

I did indeed make that other game; it's called "Deliverance".
But it's not finished yet so I'm not releasing it anywhere. Maybe I'll finish it one day and release it, but maybe not. We can but see!


mike1111758mike1111758

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

great game i look forward to the next chapters

i really like the story line and i appreciate the references to the annunaki and look forward to the story line.