Be a Supporter!

Mardek Rpg: Chapter 1

Score:
rated 4.42 / 5 stars
Views:
634,972 Views
Share Links:
Genre:
Adventure - RPG
Tags:
None

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 8, 2007 | 12:50 AM EDT
  • Frontpaged June 9, 2007
  • Daily 2nd Place June 9, 2007
  • Weekly 4th Place June 13, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

IMPORTANT: This is a rather different version of Chapter 1!
The original was released in 2007, but this version was uploaded in 2010. It's basically a 'remake' in many ways, though the plot and events are generally the same.

Unfortunately, your saves from the old version won't work due to the drastic differences behind the scenes, but there are enough differences, I hope, to make replaying worthwhile. Any saves you make in this version can carry over to later chapters properly.

EDIT (21st of August 2010): Sorry, there'd been bugs with this version for a long time! It's because I fixed the bugs on Kongregate and updated the version there, but didn't do so here... Now I have though, so hopefully all problems will be fixed.

Oh, but PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make sure you have an appropriate Flash Player version! There's a screen at the start that warns you if your version is outdated. If this screen appears *at all*, then you may (probably will) experience some bizarre saving problems. Updating your Flash Player prevents them.

Reviews


xFUNKYM0NK3YxxFUNKYM0NK3Yx

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

very good

i like this game and find it interesting i especially liked the stlye of fighting, but i think you need to put the exp to next lvl down a bit i mean 50k! that could take a long time, i think you have worked hard on this and you have made a very good game i cant wait till u make the next one. =)



ChineseDemonChineseDemon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

Enjoyable

The game was good. there are very few flash RPG's that are worth playing, Yet this is one of the best. It gave an old school final fantasy feeling to me. the only true problem i have is that it was roughly an hours worth of gameplay; and that combat can seem a bit slow. the reactions were nice but they always stayed in the same place, if they moved around it could be a bit more intresting. Overal the game was and the story was intresting. Cant wait to see how it develops in later chapters.


People find this review helpful!

UpbeatUpbeat

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

Fun, but really laggy.

It's probably just my PC, but the game (Even with lowered grapics and lowest settings) still lagged along. Still, from what I did play, I enjoyed it even though I'm not to into the Turn-Based RPG. :)


People find this review helpful!

MonochromeMonitorMonochromeMonitor

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

The gameplay is fun, and I like that (like Mario RPG games) it is both strategy (turn-based) and skill (timing mechanic). However, I find the humor to be very juvenile, which is a bit of a drawback. It makes it hard to take the game "seriously", if that's possible.


People find this review helpful!

SoullockSoullock

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars

the BEST RPG game yet!

hey, Soullock's here!

I tried this game out because my friend told me to try this. Wow...
I am incredibly blown by how original and creative this game is!
Even with the limitation of Flash software, you still find a creative edge
and wow us with sheer brilliance of your skills!

Graphic:

Very interesting use of graphic. It maybe be pretty basic and simple, but even
simple can be beautiful. Your uses of colors and the animations and the art
direction of 2D sprites and hand-drawings are extremely unique. It also effectively
connect the player to the world and characters, which very few games and films
could actually succeed. WELL DONE! Lags hurt slightly, though you did give up options
to tone down the graphic, I appalled you for that.
Score: 9.7/10

Sound:

also basic, but actually very pleasing and memorable.
There are not a lot going on with the sound, just that they are used what they
should be used: music as background, enemy roars, and characters grunt and
make sound when talks. Wish there are more, but I think I like the sounds being
as simple as it is. Not bad!
Score: 8.5/10

Gameplay:

the gameplay is actually very interesting and feel fresh too. I can see that the battle
system is a unique combination of Final Fantasy, Mario RPG, and DnD. The battles are
actually engaging with the usage of button commands and selecting actions. It hard
to explain, but I actually enjoy this kind of battle. This battle system should be
comparable to Meshria, another excellent RPG series. Also, interacting with NPC
are pretty good, though the dialogues are kinda bland.
Score: 9.3/10

Plot

This plot, I can safely say, is very unique and "out of the world". It remind me of
Meshria, but unique in it own's right! Your beginning sections are actually very smart
inclusion since it effectively connect the player to the characters, especially Mardek
and his best friend. And I didn't except to see such a interesting plot in which Mardek
have a new "inner" friend bonded with him. Also, your villains are so out-of-whack,
it gave a huge laugh as how dyfunctional and crazy those bad guys are x3 it is a nice
change of pace in the mist of many bland and cliche RPG games.
Score: 9.5/10

few words and nothing else:
FREAKING AWESOME GAME!!!

Final Score: 9.4/10 (9/10 newground)

-Soullock


People find this review helpful!