Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 8, 2007 | 12:03 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place June 9, 2007
  • Weekly 5th Place June 13, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!

Author Comments

EDIT: To all billion of you upset about the volume of the character "voices" compared to the actual song, send your complaints to the original creator of the song. I simply animated to the MP3 I had, and couldn't alter it in any way. There's nothing I could've done to change it, sorry.

This was a little idea I came up with practically on a whim last Sunday. I finished the whole thing in a little under a week, and I think it turned out pretty well. Back in 2004, a dude by the name of Martin Hagwell, also known as "Märta" made a song out of the BGM from the "Forest Maze" level from Super Mario RPG for the SNES. Just recently, he remixed the song he created into a full-fledged professional sounding song, titled "Rawest Forest". After finding the song by chance last weekend thanks to a YouTube video, I took a listen, and got the idea for this movie. Mario RPG is one of my absolute favorite games of ALL time, and I know it inside and out. Those who know the game as well as I do will catch all of the references scattered throughout the animation. I also used this as a test to try out some new little tricks with animation. The good majority of the movie is frame-by-frame, and yes, I know the drawings're a little crappy (I don't have a tabley, unfortunately), but I enjoyed working on it throughout my last full week of High School (YAY), and it doubled as the final for my animation class, so that's even better! Anyway, hope you enjoy it for what it is. I certainly had a ball.

Reviews


animationGODanimationGOD

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 17, 2008

DUDE, this can not be topped

im not kidding when i first clicked play i wached it 10 or more times in a row non stop. thank you so much for one of the greatist mario videos of all time!!!!!!! this is definitly 10/10 - 100% - A+ ;)


People find this review helpful!

gamebrainzgamebrainz

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 17, 2008

amazing

the animations fit the song and the actual game perfectly and theres some humor too. i can't think of a way to improve it.P.S. in the begining the guys say ...
Goomba: hey you heard about that mario guy?
koopa:yeah, you mean...
goomba:yeah, the one with the mushrooms?
koopa:yeah
goomba:the one who's alway jumping around the forest
koopa:yeah,yeah i know him
goomba: oh yeah, well listen to this.

most of you probably already knew thats what they said but just to make sure.


People find this review helpful!

villageslayer45villageslayer45

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 17, 2008

man!

that was cool where the hell did you get the audio though?
I would say if you feel like it you should try a different game but same style and such.



OldManIllOldManIll

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 17, 2008

thats awesome

i love the music and the video, cudos to you and martin hagwell. i hope mario rpg comes out on the wii virtual console.



alexderr11alexderr11

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 16, 2008

his name

the puppets name is geno.(i thinks thats how you spell it)