Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 16, 2006 | 3:40 AM EST
  • Daily Feature December 17, 2006
  • Weekly 5th Place December 20, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Waterman
    Waterman Forget what's on TV tonight; Waterman is on now!

Author Comments

**UPDATED 12/18/06**
Now with navigation bar!

Waterman has finally returned in an all new, twenty minute long episode! I really don't want to give anything away, because I believe this to be, hands down, the greatest Waterman installment yet. So please, sit back, relax, and enjoy the show!

Reviews


KupaManKupaMan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 17, 2006

Very nice presentation

It's rare to get such complete works on Newgrounds like this. For a site comprised of flash less than 3 minutes on average, pulling full-length television episode run-time is a crazy feat. I'm glad you finally got it done. See, I wouldn't have been able to do it this nice.

The graphics worked very well. All the newly designed characters -- particularly Johan -- were really stylish and cool (but I guess that credit probably goes to Boe and not necessarily you).

The voice acting was great and most of the sounds and music fit well, but there were times (for instance, while the ice cream truck drove) where sound was absent and felt weird and incomplete.

There wasn't an excessive amount of violence, but the very creative double eye puncture on the branch was the funniest thing I've seen all week, which leads me into the humor of the flash. It was, again, very Family Guy-esque. However, it didn't feel ripped off like some of the other episodes have felt like, or much of the other cartoons on Newgrounds. It also gives its own feel to the comedic type. It seems like everyone runs off on a tangent about an overly detailed metaphor they create to explain a point, and then lets go of their original point. I like that.

Overall, I think this is a worthy comeback episode. I'm glad to see that the series isn't dead. However, I'd still like to see the flaws removed or at least greatly reduced in future episodes.


People find this review helpful!

FarelFarel

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 17, 2006

And the waterman is back!

I really am impressed at what you done!
Really nice work man! I hope to see more, but tell me: how much does it take to make a such episode?



earthseaearthsea

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 17, 2006

Great, but Waterman could be so, so much more.

Rather than showering you with unwaivering praise and congratulations as to have you have been promoted to a demi-god due to this animation, I'm offering actual creative suggestions, that, should you actual read and possibly respond to, may incorporate in you're future animations.

But first, the breakdown.

Graphics-10. Simple. Not great, but it's not supposed to be. For the cartoony, Family Guy-Seinfeld-esqe (Mind you, I'm not comparing it to Family Guy. This show is actually funny and original) crossover you were going for, no better style could be used. And dear god, there must have been 2 million sybols throughout.

Animation-10. My own category, quite different from graphics. First off, your characters move realistically when talking. It keeps the dialouge from getting stale when the characters are moving when talking. Not many animators due that. As for the actual movements and lip-syncing, perfect. Not much more to say.

Originality-10. Oh, come on. How could this not get a ten?

Humor-10. I can write pages on this, but it is awesome, to sum it up. Waterman has that strange, off-beat, aura that makes everything about it great.

Replay Value-8. I watched this three times, and, just like the Decline series, I laugh each time because of new jokes I missed or misunderstood previously. Honestly, this could be a little greater.

Now, I actually give creative criticisim. This is in a numbered list.

1) This is confusing. Since it took so long to produce this episode, I COMPLETELY forgot, well, pretty much everything about the series. I had to go back and rewatch all the episodes. For instance, I had completely forgotten who the armadillo guy was. While all the episodes are awesome, I don't have much time on most occasions, so it was a pain. And speaking of not having time to view this flash...

2) Why, why, why, WHY in hells name was there no scene selection!!?? For this review, I wanted to refer to parts of the animation, but I didn't have time to watch it all, which hurt this review. Also, If I just have a quick 10 minutes, I want to come back to watch the rest. This is my major complaint.

3) Sound. It was just slightly on the light side, even with my speakers on high.

Well that's it for that. Oh, and for the reviewers, keep in mind that this is free, both of price and commercials. This means this man, or group of people working with him, are making little, if any, money. Therefore, comparing this to any random humor T.V. animation is unfair, so don't.

And lastly, just in case the animator reads this and responds, some questions I hope to have answered. I surprised no one's done an interview with you for NG Mag, or something of that nature.

1) What are your inspirations for Waterman? Is it based off of your own life (loosely)?

2) Even if it's not related to this flash, what exactly is 16 Buttons of Justice?

3) What is the Waterman frame rate?

And, I'm out of time. Wish I could ask you more.


People find this review helpful!

UnakauUnakau

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 17, 2006

Bad News: I'm Comparing This To Family Guy.

Good News: This is better than Family Guy.


People find this review helpful!

HammerlockHammerlock

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 17, 2006

I liked this episode.

Graphics - Nice and clear, and is probably one of the reasons why this flash was over 8 megabytes big. As is true with past flash series, especially on this site, it's good to have your own unique style of animation, which adds a big part to the cartoon as a whole, possibly even more than story in some cases. To pretty much sum up everything I'm trying to say, this series looks great, the characters look great, each of them look and are designed well, and the animation was very solid, and it flowed very well. It's animations like this that show people that flash animation is a very respectable form of animation.

Style - I'll be honest; a few of the earlier episodes I watched prior to this one I didn't like so much, because, despite the wishes of the series' creator Bryan Waterman, "this series is better when NOT compared to Family Guy." Well, in some of the earlier episodes, this comparison was inevitable, but I must say, this particular episode is a huge step up from the past episodes, as the writing has gotten a lot better. Gone are the superfluous references to pop culture, and in their place is an actual storyline. Granted, the pop culture references are still there, but done in a way that's a lot more tolerable than the way things were done in past episodes. It was a definite improvement, and I especially enjoyed the references to Darkwing Duck and The Little Mermaid, two of my personal favorite forms of Disney paraphernalia. Overall, it was really well written, and it could definitely fit in well on Adult Swim on the Sunday night lineup on the Fox Network. Not a Family Guy comparison by any means, just wanted to point that out.

Sound - Some of the cartoons on here have only one of the key elements to making a genuinely entertaining flash cartoon, and an exorbitantly high number of them don't have any of them. Luckily, a lot of those get blammed. One of the elements is the aforementioned graphics, and like I said, this cartoon looked great. The other one is sound, which was very well done. In a lot of the cartoons on this site, the animation is good, but the fact that the voices were recorded on a low quality microphone is made obvious by the extra noises heard with some syllables, usually with the pronunciation for the letters "p" or "s". There isn't much else that can be said about sound, which is a lot different than the animation. Pretty much all that can be said is that it either sounds good or it doesn't, and this cartoon sounded good. Yeah, pretty much a throw-away section, but it's there, so I elaborate on it.

Violence - Not too much more than normal, but there is definitely some, mostly played off for comedic purposes. There's the car crashing through the roof of Waterman's house, Roy-Bot being melted, and possibly more, but I wasn't paying total attention to the flash in some parts. But yeah, it was fairly violent, and such.

Interactivity - I really think that this feature should only be there for games, because in these flash movies, other than a few easter eggs (which I really haven't seen in flash cartoons other than Retarted Animal Babies or Homestar Runner) and menus, there really isn't any interactivity in these things, because they really don't call for that much.

Humor - This was a pretty funny flash, with great dialouge, and some of the best pop culture references I have ever seen or heard in a flash series like this. It was genuinely funny, and in some cases, I found myself laughing out loud. I don't do this very often, but when that does happen, that must mean that the humor aspect of the dialouge was definitely one of the highlights. I seriously need to find better ways to close out these sections, and making self criticizing comments aren't really original and captivating enough.

Overall - This was a very good flash in a series of flash cartoons that, up until now, I really didn't like too much. This episode was genuinely good, and flashes like this are what keep me going to Newgrounds, even if it's a lot less often than I used to.

The average is 6.6, but I'll round up to 8.