Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 22, 2006 | 6:32 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature April 23, 2006
  • Weekly 3rd Place April 26, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Mario
    Mario Seemingly infinite Mario parodies! Some of the funniest Flash movies ever conceived!
  • Super Mario Bros Z
    Super Mario Bros Z It's a crazy Mario / DBZ crossover!

Author Comments

[UPDATE 2 - 01/10/08] Wow, hard to believe how far things have come since I first started work on this series. Thanks for all the support over the past few years guys. Much appreciated. ^^

[UPDATE] Daily feature and front page.
What can I say? Thanks very much everyone! =^_^=

My first full length sprite animation.
I've seen many Super mario/DBZ parodies on Newgrounds, and they weren't very impressive. So I decided to make my own series with X number of parts.
The story will be based on the android saga through to the Cell games saga. Although it isn't very evident in this first part.
This episode is based on the episode where Frieza returned after he was defeated. Although, i'm aiming to make the story much different so it suits the Mario characters.
I was intending to make this episode longer, plus add a fight scene between Bowser and Mario, but I went overboard with the race scene and didn't have enough room to add it.
But i'm happy with the result anyway. And part 2 will follow along shortly. (I hope)
Anyway. Enjoy the show.

[EDIT 2] Found better sprites for the chaos emeralds, so I replaced them.

Reviews


Kirito468Kirito468

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 9, 2013

the animations are so awesome!


People find this review helpful!

smg242smg242

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 8, 2013

(This review applies to the whole series, not just episode one)

Super Mario Bros. Z is a decent attempt at mixing Dragon Ball Z with Super Mario Bros. and Sonic the Hedgehog characters. It's high on the action sequences, with my favorite ones being the airship fight, the island fight, and even the simply madcap race at the beginning! The action is slick, and really well-done for a flash animation. The effects are just amazing, and I even liked the motion blur.

The plot is engaging, but at times a little illogical. There are sadly, NO twists and turns, even though the series feels like a thriller at times. But whatever there IS, it's good and entertaining. The slapstick humor is also effective, and actually made me laugh out loud one or two times. PLEASE continue this series whenever you get time, it's one of the best sprite-animated action series on Newgrounds!


People find this review helpful!

DerTaroDerTaro

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 7, 2013

Awesome! Way better Story than any Mario Game up to now. Ever thought of a career as a Nintendo Developer ? ;)



harperboy10harperboy10

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 29, 2013

i love the mario kart part. where did the wario brother went?


People find this review helpful!

AknoayAknoay

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 19, 2013

This looks so awesome. I give it 5 stars and a cookie!


People find this review helpful!