Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 14, 2006 | 11:58 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature April 15, 2006
  • Weekly 4th Place April 19, 2006

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Robots
    Robots Do you like cartoons about robots? Look no further!

Author Comments

Hint!: You should probably watch this movie at least twice all the way through in order to catch everything!!

This movie was rather experimental in it's animation as well as it's story. I've played around in past movies with using photographs (peach moon) and hand drawn images (The Night I Was Almost Murdered...) and so this time I decided to combine the best of ALL worlds and see what would happen. This movie contains photographs, hand drawings, photoshopped drawings, paintings, cardboard cutouts, and characters drawn in flash. As for the story, I wrote out all the different scenes I wanted to use and then scrambled and reorganized them so that the story is presented in a nonlinear fashion

Reviews


FreemontFreemont

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 14, 2006

I knew it would happen...

Now your Flash movies are finally as good as/better than your claymations. Excellent job on this, the ending made me jump.

I hope you continue with your movies. Maybe you could do some more stop motion soon?


Matt-Merrill responds:

thanks man, but sadly it will be a while before you see anything else from me. I'm going on a mission for my church to mexico for two years and won't have time or recources to make any movies while I'm down there. But when I come back I eventually hope to do some more claymation someday.


BosorBosor

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 14, 2006

shit

man this will maybe happen someday

i felt strange will watching

it's fucking good



Malevolent-MMalevolent-M

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 14, 2006

Very Good Story

Loved the story, the animation was great and the music that was playing just braught it all together, great work here, keep it up!



Sandman2sactownSandman2sactown

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 14, 2006

very...peculiar

Well, I'm gonna take a stab at it. It is conveying the theme of slavery of robots, and how it is not unlike the antebellum South prior to 1861. The robots do work that is easily done by humans, but due to our fascination and greed in technology, we feel that we deserve to have a dominance over robots. However, in the end, we find that it is ourselves which have been dominated.

Alright, that's about all I have to say on interpretation. For the flash, I like how the story portrayed characteristics of both the contemporary and modernist movements. The art, I feel, is the limiting factor which holds back the whole movie. The movements and interactions, like the robot with the broom, are...unnatural.

However, I feel you got your point across. Your style I applaude. The music I loved.



RbyersRbyers

Rated 3 / 5 stars April 14, 2006

One question...

Whos perspective was it from? The guy who dies or the selling guy?