Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 20, 2006 | 8:00 PM EST
  • Daily Feature January 21, 2006
  • Weekly 2nd Place January 25, 2006

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Robots
    Robots Do you like cartoons about robots? Look no further!

Author Comments

This is an action cartoon/music video about a couple of giant robots and some seriously hardcore gamers. I started this a long time ago, but only got round to finishing it recently, so it gets better towards the end.

Oh, and before anyone else asks, the song is 'Haruka Kanata' by Asian Kung-Fu Generation.

If you enjoy this, why not visit my website? Not that there's much else like this on there... but come and have a look anyway. :P

Reviews


Major-punkMajor-punk

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 20, 2006

This is the best. End.

That was amazing! I am still stunned from what I just witnessed.

It started out realistic and something everyone can relate to but then it gradually converts to an almost science fiction kind of animation.
Starting with two teenagers playing videogames in a house to the same guys fighting on a beach with robots falling into the ocean is something you only realize when the flash is finished.

The fight scenes were not only fun to watch but they were completley on a different level. Unique is an understatement this is imagination at its best. The movements were smooth and realistic no legs bending the wrong way in this flash.

Another thing is the facial expressions when they fought that attention to detail is so much appreciated, thats one of the many things that seperates this flash from the rest.

I really didnt know what to expect next, I kept getting thrown off and felt helpless watching this and I just wanted to see more

The length and filesize of this really impressed me most high quality flashes such as this are only like 30 seconds long but this was a good 2 minutes at least. And the quality never slacked off either it was spectacular the whole way through!

This is the one part that didnt really blow me away but it was still good. The soundtrack I heard somewhere before so its kinda like that Numa Numa song after you hear it once its lost its magic. But the music was in sync with what was happening, everytime something BIG happened the soundtrack would express that. Perfectly.

My favourite part of this was when they were both fighting at the beach with a crowd surrounding them. Just the way the camera angle was spinning and the people cheering in the background reminded me of some highschool fights I used to enjoy watchng so much.

This flash is definitly going to win some awards and get front page. So early congrats to that.

Best of luck to you and hopefully you will submit more flash to Newgrounds sometime in the future? Anyway your fucking awesome!


StephenRedmond responds:

Hey, thankyou very much. :) I really appreciate it when someone writes a review like this.

Actually, the movie's pretty much dead-on four minutes. The song was used in the opening sequence of Naruto. It hadn't been used in any flash movies when I started this, but I think it's been used in a few before I finished. :P

I'll definately be submitting more in the future, but it won't be for a while yet. Thanks again, man.


Battlefront-RyokoBattlefront-Ryoko

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 20, 2006

Wow

You Are very good man good job WOOT!



BoraraBorara

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 20, 2006

WTF??? Haruka Kanata for this stuff???, sorry NO

Its not the song(I actually like that song, but WTF? theres nothing even remotely related in this flash to anything in the song), its not the animation which is, in fact very good, its the overwhelming fact that this particular animation and that song dont mix in any way, just get a song that really goes with your animations, its cool to make a music video if you have an idea of what the song is about, so, sorry but this just doesnt cut it for me. that six in the overall is because its obvious that you have talent in animation.


StephenRedmond responds:

Hmm, you may have a point. But I don't understand Japanese fluently, and I doubt if many of the people here on Newgrounds do either. The animation may not fit the *lyrics* but I think it fits the *music* very well. But yeah, I'll consider my choices more carefully in future.


Chibi-OverlordChibi-Overlord

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 20, 2006

Dude!

Dude I can only wish I was as good as you
But I only a chibi with the same sound track as you )8
My guss is a lot of scenes and a shit load of movie clips and close togather motion tween along side with A high FPS Right?


StephenRedmond responds:

Thanks man, just give it time, my animation was pretty appauling when I was 16. :P This was actually all just one scene and it's only 12fps, there were a helluva lot of symbols, and yeah, a healthy dose of motion tweening to cut some corners and keep the filesize down.


Gr3mlinGr3mlin

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 20, 2006

Fscking Great!

Wow, you did a wonderful job with the animation. And the story line was kind of funny, but sad at the same time. I really do envy your ability to animate. ^_^