Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 15, 2005 | 12:31 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

EDIT:
2012/01/06

Whoa, I didn't realize Stick Fighter had made it to 16th in the "Best of All Time" with a 4.43 rating!!!

And sure, I'll totally admit that there are many, many better games on Newgrounds (this was my first ever game from when I was first learning Flash after all), but seriously, is Stick Fighter really that bad to warrant all the super bad ratings now just to knock it off the Flash Portal?!?

Haters gonna hate, I guess.

Brace yourself, Josh, the Blams are coming...
-------------------------

EDIT:
2005/11/05

Yes, I KNOW the enemy is hard. As was testing it, I kept making the enemy harder and harder until it beat me 50% of the time, but I forgot to consider that a first-time player wouldn't know everything that I knew as the programmer about how the AI would behave.

Yes, I KNOW it's hard to throw a fireball, but it IS possible.

To throw a fireball:
Press BACK (the opposite direction of your opponent)
then press FORWARD (the direction of opponent)
then press one of the PUNCHES.

Don't hit all 3 buttons at the same time, but you've got to be quick about it. You have less than a second between each keypress to do the fireball combo.
-------------------------

Arcade-style fighting game like Street Fighter, only with Stick Figures.

I know Stick Figure fighting games have been done before, but I made STICK FIGHTER in 2004 for a school assignment when I was first learning Flash.

There are 2 Modes of play:
1) Single player vs Computer AI
2) Two players vs each other

Current features are:
-- fireball combos (both standing and crouching)
-- two strengths of attack for both punches and kicks
-- jumping, crouching and blocking
-- artificially intelligent Computer opponent
-- shadows and blood
-- music and sound FX

I recently added volume controls for the audio. I might add more special moves someday. I'd also like to make it so people can reconfigure the key controls for their own keyboards. It was tricky to find a functional layout for the two player controls because Windows has a glitch were certain keyboard combinations cancel each other out and I didn't want one player to be able to accidentally (or intentionally) mess up the other player by button mashing their own keys. The current default keyboard controls should be comfortable for almost all keyboards and they should work in all operating systems.

Oh ya, and the background animation for the main menu is actually two AI computer players strategically fighting each other at random. It's kinda fun to watch them beat each other up.

Reviews


devilman9999999999devilman9999999999

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars June 7, 2007

i hate this!

this totally useless. the contrls r hard to use and there r like less than 10 moves! IMPROVE!



phildudephildude

Rated 0 / 5 stars June 7, 2007

WOOT

graphics STICKMEN! LOL! ON PAPER! ,style LOOKS LIKE SOMETHING A 5 YEAR OLD WOULD HAVE DRAWN IN 30 SECONDS!,sound LOL ALL THERE WAS IS SOME STUPID TECHNO WITH HIT NOISES TOOK 5 SECS TO LOAD,violence TEENY BIT OF BLOOD PROBABLY ALL YOU CAN EXPECT FROM A STICKMAN GAME LOL,interactivity FOR PLAYER 1 I HAD TO HAVE 1 ARM FOR ARROWS AND THE OTHER ARM WAS THE OTHER SIDE OF THE KEYBOARD REACHING OUT FOR THE NUMBERPAD P.S. NUMBERKEY DIDNT WORK! ,humor NONE! IT WAS TOO HARD EVEN THE FIRST LEVEL! AND I DONT LIKE GETTING BEATEN UP IT NEEDS TONS OF WORK! >=========((((((((((((((((



Darkness-DarknessDarkness-Darkness

Rated 3 / 5 stars June 2, 2007

ehhhhhh. not great

it could have been improved it was enjoyable for a nine year old but come on......needs more substance



SkYcSkYc

Rated 3 / 5 stars May 5, 2007

Could have been better.

Well this was in Stick Figures so of course I played it and well, It could use some improvement.

Graphics-The graphics aren't exactly the best in the world, Nor are they the worse but however they're okay.

Style-Like most people that make things like this with just basic stick figures this somewhere caught up in the game had a different twist.

Sound-VERY REPETATIVE. You could have added it to where you can choose a different song ya know. But this is a fighting game so you really have no time to scroll them so I can see your point.

Violence-Where's the actual Hard-Hitting violence! I mean there could have been combos added to it and whatknot. If this was you're first flash I could give you a break but come on man! Don't you play the stick fighting games. There's a little more than just weak hits strong hits and all of that. There's combos and all!

Interactivity-I think this was you're strong suit but there could have been more.

Humor-Well there wasn't any unless you count the fists and the feet flying into the mouth.

Overall-This really could have had more potential than what it did. But I guess in maybe some of you're next flashes you will have actually taken my decisions and would have at least, Added some combos or something like that. I mean come on man a stick fighting game isn't much with just let alone kicking and punching and fireballs. This really could have been better and I think you know that. I'm not saying it's the absolute worst game on NewGrounds, But it's an okay game.

2/5.



steban90steban90

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 18, 2007

IT WAS OKAY BUT I GOT BORED PRETTY QUICK.

Add some combos and more moves it'll get alot better.