Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2005 | 12:58 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2005
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 11, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Animals
    Animals Cats, dogs, penguins, bears; they're all here!

Author Comments

The Fox and the Mirrior
::Full-animated-Short::
:Not Animated in Flash::

Behold I have completed it! The first Creation Warrior Production!
After 3 months I can finally show off my short film “The Fox and the Mirrior.”

I did it because I am currently attending CalArts and every year we are expected to make a short film. I Have to say the people in the department are the most hard working insane awesome people before. I am just one of the individuals who accomplish this great feet every year. It’s Awesome! Only now can I appreciate the amount of work that goes into hand drawn animation. So much work for such a short thing. But it means so much! Now I feel like I can accomplish anything!

About:
Title: The Fox and the Mirrior

Length: 1:48 sec (25 shots)

File Type: currently crappy 3 meg swf (looping)

Created with: Pencils lots of pencils, Mostly with my trusty mechanical pencil with .5 HB high-polymer lead(man it killed my hand) but also a lot with Crete-color Monolith and Tombo HB drafting pencils. All on “12 field” animation paper, (about 14” by 12”) I tested the animation on a “lunch box system.” I then scanned it in using Animation Stand and put the drawings in order in After Effects then Edited all the shots (27 of them) together with Final Cut Pro. The only place Flash had was in out putting it for the web. Other than that nothing was done in that program. All Drawn! Crap!

Death Toll: Some 1600 drawings over three months, average of 3 to 12 hours strait work a day (yes this is true!) and many, many sleepless nights. This isn’t all just drawing I also had to plan it out x-sheet it, scan it, compose it and output it. Well for every second there needs to be 24 frames I drew about 24 -12 frames for every second...yeah just do the math.

“The Fox and the Mirrior © copyright 2005 Margaret (Razi) "Creation Warrior" Mathison and Creation Warrior Productions, creation_warrior.com@hotmail.com [link]

You can also view it here:
(it's in the news just click the link and tell me what you think in the tagboard next to it)
[link]

Answered Questions:

Music: I go the music from one of my friends who had it around I heard it and I just had to use it. I think however it was done by Dead Poetic.

Gender?: The fox is actually female. I wanted it to kind of come across without being weird. But really she is just a fox.

Were you Helped? : I did it all on my own

Don't understand it?: Yeah I ran out of time and was unable to complete like 5 shots...Maybe I'll upload the storyboards for those shots so people can see the whole thing.

Meaning?: Yeah it's more of just a piece that expresses in an abstract way my emotions. The butterfly is supposed to be kind of the dream, what the fox wants...It's supposed to represent desire. The Mirrior (Yes Mirrior) is just supposed to show our worse enemy, ourselves. The fox is me because I am well a fox .

How long have you been animating?: I've been at CalArts 1 year and this is my first animation.

Reviews


jmbasquiat-fanjmbasquiat-fan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

Pretty good...

Just don't let Disney get ahold of you- they'll stifle your creativity. :o) Pretty darn good! My only issue it that the music, although pretty and very suited to the mood, got a little repetitive- hence the 9 overall.



icouldbeanybodyicouldbeanybody

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

wow

incredible first animation.. and I'd give it an 11 out of 10 for style if I could. And was it deliberate that the butterfly didn't appear in the mirrior?



KimKhanKimKhan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

Hand-drawn..... 'nuff said

Respect to you, who have the gumtion to make something this classy FRAME BY FRAME!
'tis one goes to my fav' list :3



ArmyAntArmyAnt

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

Unique

Don't see too many submissions on newgrounds like this. That must have taken FOREVER to do. You obviously have a lot of talent. The music got pretty repetitive but still fit the mood.

Take some time to recover and then make some more.


People find this review helpful!

wahaywahay

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

You just rocked my pants.

This was all hand-drawn. Man. This must've been some experience for you. I can't fathom doing a traditional animation. But you did this frame by frame WITHOUT flash!
I don't even have the patience to do that in flash, let alone pencil and paper.
The first thing I felt connected to was the expression of the fox, which you handled superbly.
The sound came off as suiting, but in a way it felt sort of harsh, and at some times out-of-place.
You're style is unlike any other here, and at 18 I can't wait to see you take off in animation, because you WILL go in any direction you want.

Oh, and I read the other reviews, and it looks like you just broke the anthro-barrier. Nice work.
5/5