Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 10, 2005 | 12:58 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 11, 2005
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 11, 2005

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Animals
    Animals Cats, dogs, penguins, bears; they're all here!

Author Comments

The Fox and the Mirrior
::Full-animated-Short::
:Not Animated in Flash::

Behold I have completed it! The first Creation Warrior Production!
After 3 months I can finally show off my short film “The Fox and the Mirrior.”

I did it because I am currently attending CalArts and every year we are expected to make a short film. I Have to say the people in the department are the most hard working insane awesome people before. I am just one of the individuals who accomplish this great feet every year. It’s Awesome! Only now can I appreciate the amount of work that goes into hand drawn animation. So much work for such a short thing. But it means so much! Now I feel like I can accomplish anything!

About:
Title: The Fox and the Mirrior

Length: 1:48 sec (25 shots)

File Type: currently crappy 3 meg swf (looping)

Created with: Pencils lots of pencils, Mostly with my trusty mechanical pencil with .5 HB high-polymer lead(man it killed my hand) but also a lot with Crete-color Monolith and Tombo HB drafting pencils. All on “12 field” animation paper, (about 14” by 12”) I tested the animation on a “lunch box system.” I then scanned it in using Animation Stand and put the drawings in order in After Effects then Edited all the shots (27 of them) together with Final Cut Pro. The only place Flash had was in out putting it for the web. Other than that nothing was done in that program. All Drawn! Crap!

Death Toll: Some 1600 drawings over three months, average of 3 to 12 hours strait work a day (yes this is true!) and many, many sleepless nights. This isn’t all just drawing I also had to plan it out x-sheet it, scan it, compose it and output it. Well for every second there needs to be 24 frames I drew about 24 -12 frames for every second...yeah just do the math.

“The Fox and the Mirrior © copyright 2005 Margaret (Razi) "Creation Warrior" Mathison and Creation Warrior Productions, creation_warrior.com@hotmail.com [link]

You can also view it here:
(it's in the news just click the link and tell me what you think in the tagboard next to it)
[link]

Answered Questions:

Music: I go the music from one of my friends who had it around I heard it and I just had to use it. I think however it was done by Dead Poetic.

Gender?: The fox is actually female. I wanted it to kind of come across without being weird. But really she is just a fox.

Were you Helped? : I did it all on my own

Don't understand it?: Yeah I ran out of time and was unable to complete like 5 shots...Maybe I'll upload the storyboards for those shots so people can see the whole thing.

Meaning?: Yeah it's more of just a piece that expresses in an abstract way my emotions. The butterfly is supposed to be kind of the dream, what the fox wants...It's supposed to represent desire. The Mirrior (Yes Mirrior) is just supposed to show our worse enemy, ourselves. The fox is me because I am well a fox .

How long have you been animating?: I've been at CalArts 1 year and this is my first animation.

Reviews


TheNoodleManTheNoodleMan

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

.......wow

Trippy.........



PedroFPedroF

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

Wierd...

... but very good work! A rare thing on NG.



stalefish000stalefish000

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

I don't get it, but still amazingly drawn!

I really have no idea what the storyline is. But, of course, you cannot ignore the fact of how SUPERBLY drawn it is! And to think, you have to draw each and every frame it is quite a feat. And it's isn't rushed either. All of the art is nicely drawn, and with a nice, calming backing music that puts it all together.



Kunoichi-WarriorKunoichi-Warrior

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

Excellent work

I don't think there's any other flash like this in the portal. The art is beautiful and the music goes nicely with it. You must have worked very hard on this, but it was definately worth it.



t00thpickt00thpick

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 13, 2005

superb !

thats just been done superbly, must have taken ages !