Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2004 | 9:12 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 3, 2004
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 4, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds, long time no see...
From the creator of "Aura" comes a brand new [quite old by now, actually..] flash production - SMILE! .
What was to be quick side project turned into a beast that took me over 3 months... Three months of forsaking and returning, three months of occasional work suicides and sleepless nights...

as always, NOTE: May not be liked by everyone, but was never meant to be liked by everyone. If you're here only to watch funny mario parodies, then you can skip this movie now.

Enough nagging. Watch the movie.
And SMILE!!

(There are quite many people that get confused by the ending. Just to let you know - yes, it's supposed to be the way it is. )

Reviews


kkmariekkmarie

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2012

This reminded me a lot of the book Brave New World by Aldous Huxley for some reason. ^^

Very nice concept, and very well done.



JyreJyre

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 29, 2012

I remember this from so many moons ago. What a fantastic story, really.. I still remember moments in the flash. Wow.



StepStoneBoyStepStoneBoy

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 27, 2012

awesome flash, the ending was beautiful lol



stabika67stabika67

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 25, 2012

I am truly amazed. Even though it was a tortured, bloody, madness death, it still conveyed a great number of messages, of individuality, how the government functions, what happens to those that disagree with the big corporations, etc. Even though others may dislike this, i find that there is a deep message behind this, and makes a deep message to those who are stuck in the in-crowds of school, and life in general. Don't be ashamed or feel outcasted just cuz you chose not be like everybody else! "If the culture doesn't fit you, dont buy it." -Morrie Shwartz


People find this review helpful!

UltimateFalconFartUltimateFalconFart

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 27, 2012

Honestly, I think there are several messages here. Mostly I think that this is about individualism and being a free-thinker, two messages that most people (read: the torturers) don't understand. They are the 'lowest common denominator', the people that the media wishes to get to the most.

The animation here is VERY good for 2004, and I'd even go as far to say it looks like most 2009 flashes. The subtle face-twitches from the protagonist AND the torturers were in great detail, so I see you really worked hard on this monster of a metaphor.

Great flash man, 5/5 stars.


People find this review helpful!