Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
May 1, 2004 | 9:12 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature May 3, 2004
  • Weekly 2nd Place May 4, 2004

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Flash Portal History: 2004
    Flash Portal History: 2004 The disturbing news of multiple artist deaths is washed over by the Numa Numa craze.
  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

Hello Newgrounds, long time no see...
From the creator of "Aura" comes a brand new [quite old by now, actually..] flash production - SMILE! .
What was to be quick side project turned into a beast that took me over 3 months... Three months of forsaking and returning, three months of occasional work suicides and sleepless nights...

as always, NOTE: May not be liked by everyone, but was never meant to be liked by everyone. If you're here only to watch funny mario parodies, then you can skip this movie now.

Enough nagging. Watch the movie.
And SMILE!!

(There are quite many people that get confused by the ending. Just to let you know - yes, it's supposed to be the way it is. )

Reviews


artificialartificial

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 1, 2004

incredible

I woke up this morning and for some reason had this odd feeling you were making something new and i had this clue that it was coming. Now to the movie. This movie was amazing, the black and white animations were very well done, and it grabbed handle of the audience very well. Also the very monotone dark style was neat, and some nice zoom affects. Music went very well , and the plot to show someone to smile, and force them through all the pain, was nice to watch. Also this was to represent, how bad this world really, is and violence and pain is really all that happens. Animations were very smooth and bloody, and the torture was great. Very artistic, and there is no flash of this kind anywhere. Detail was impressive, and alot of unique talent for sure. Also the end scene was awsome, and the camera angle work was nuce, the dancing was to show an fake emotion, do to there brains being over whelmed. ALot of talent, and these are the real flashes. These are the flashes that take thought, mind power and the will to create.

Overall and incredible film, with some amazing unique style of graphics, and some happy smiles. Violence was indeed great, and a very powerful film. Genius my friend

You are very talented , hope to see more.


People find this review helpful!

Coolman158Coolman158

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 1, 2004

deep...

hmm..this is pretty dark and deep!


People find this review helpful!

RomFomRomFom

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 1, 2004

wow

very deep.. u r truely talented


People find this review helpful!

doggy9doggy9

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 1, 2004

a true work of art

i dont know wtf ur tryin to say y it but its so beutiful



MightydeinMightydein

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 1, 2004

A distrubing look at happyness.

The poor guy died becuase he did'nt smile and it made me feel sorry for the poor guy trying his best to crack as a smile as his life was taken away.

The poor man tried his hardest to crack a smile but because he did'nt feel good to begin with he could'nt crack a smile and his life ended.

You got some real talent with animation and the simple drawings were smooth. I did'nt expect that much movie outta of such a tine file size keep up the good work.


People find this review helpful!