Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 26, 2003 | 11:35 AM EDT
  • Daily Feature August 27, 2003
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 27, 2003

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Download version is better. flecko.net/games.html

Reviews


Madness4EVUMadness4EVU

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 2, 2008

amazing

I really love this game and i mean LOVE it, also if you go on google and type in hd mod u shuld get a link (your first hit) will get u to a nice mod hit madness hyperactive and then tzarness, after tzarness it sez madness interactive which can be played fullscreen there, but watch out some people really like to make crappy ones so pick the right one, enjoy =D


People find this review helpful!

AmrasCalmacilAmrasCalmacil

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 2, 2008

Masterpiece

Mowing down legions of your fellow man seems to be a popular basis for games, but rarely are they done as brilliantly as Madness Interactive.

I've been coming on and off to this game for quite a long time now, which makes me wonder why I never got around to writing this review until now, I guess reviewing things can wait when I'm slaughtering hapless fools.

Firsly lets talk about the graphics, okay, so the Madness style has never been the Mona Lisa but you could probably call it classic in Newgrounds, and while there is next to no variation in the character models they're still all very well done, especially when they spasm in a hail of automatic fire, or go flying when you smack them one with the 'arnold' cheat on. The backgrounds and environments are all in monochrome but I can't really expect anything else, and I doubt anyone else would be, on the downside though corridors are extremely bland, the only real difference is if there are a few pictures on the wall, the blandness may be intentional but I don't like it and feel like mentioning it, if only to make my ego swell nicely by having a high word count in this review, anyway, enough blabbering on about how it looks, lets move on to all the sexy violence.

The gameplay is fun, and solid, making for many happy returns and while the control system may take a little while to get used to for some people playing it makes the combat extremely fun and unique, and while it makes trying to throw things a total bugger it does give you a nice feeling of acomplishment when your opponent goes down with a switchblade sticking out of his forehead.

The story is pretty simple, the Sheriff has stolen your pie, go murder him and murder tons of various different looking dudes on the way. Feh, fair enough, someone steals your pie, you kill them, speaks for itself (no, I'm not being sarcastic).

I also want to make some (well, at least one) recommendation(s) to anyone playing.
1) Be a man, yeah, you've got a gun, so what? Try playing through the game (or at least on experiment mode) using only melee weapons, personally I liked using my fists/a switchblade and a baseball bat, if you combine playing like this with the 'arnold' cheat then the effects are maximized, if you get shot up a lot then just use the 'willis' cheat and your balls (or metaphorical balls if you're a woman) should still feel as big. If you suck and get shot up and don't want to cheat then theres a consolation, you'll either go down looking like a real man, or go down looking like an idiotic dipshit, it all depends on perspective really.

2) This one isn't really a recomendation, but I found it pretty fun to try and showboat, for example throwing my switchblade in the air and catching it before stabbing some poor sap, do it right and you'll look stylish as hell. The scenario I'm about to describe was more of a very stylish accident, plus I want to boast about it - I was playing in experiment mode using only melee weapons and threw my baseball bat at some tit with a pistol, it hit him in the face and bounced back, when I, showing some amazing reflexes (fluking), cought the bat and smacked him with it, killing him, this made my ego swell with pride but I couldn't help but be disapointed because I was the only one who saw it, if you pull something like this off then kudos to you.

I'm running out of characters so I'll finish up now so you can stop reading. I give this game a huge recommendation to just about anyone, those looking for sophisticated gameplay will be disapointed but I can't see why anyone looking for sophisticated gameplay would even think this contained the slightest trace of it. So there we have it, Madness Interactive, a shining example of games about killing people.


People find this review helpful!

montrealfan101montrealfan101

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 1, 2008

yaya

funnest game ever you can play it over and over again and it doesnt get old great work madness


People find this review helpful!

HacsevHacsev

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 1, 2008

Awesome!

This game is one of the coolest I've seen in newgronds. I liked the story mode but isn't there a checkpoint? Anyway, I hope you could make more of this.


People find this review helpful!

AzPbSniperAzPbSniper

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 1, 2008

your calibers are wrong

The AK-47's 7.62mm round should be leaving a bigger hole than the M-16's 5.56mm round. Needs more to do.