00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Xyphondevi just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Interesting character in my ER

801 Views | 8 Replies

Interesting character in my ER 2008-06-09 04:47:36

I'm new here and am questioning my wisdom on posting to a site such as this, but if I gain some insight from someone with similar experience then perhaps it will be worth my time.

First, an introduction - I'm a doctor in an ER in Colorado (Boulder to be exact). The only verification I'll give is that our hospital uses a set of guidelines called Encore Values that are specific and unique to our small community hospital. We have several campuses including an original location and a new facility that has been open for a few years now. The following incident occurred at the former. If you need proof of my own validity you can easily figure out which hospital I'm referring to and simply call and ask them whether or not we use "Encore Values" as part of our mission statement. That should at least go some distance in giving me a smattering of credibility. As for the account that I am about to relate, I can offer no proof. I can only tell you what happened.

Three nights ago I was in the middle of my shift and was having a relatively quiet evening, especially for a weekend. We were then given a heads up about a multiple victim accident that had occurred on The Diagonal (a highway that leads into town here). I took on one of the incoming and will describe the patient as "him" although I will say that it may have been a man or a woman. Because of HIPPA regulations I cannot reveal any information that may relate to his/her identity. I will refer to this patient simply as "scalp lac" due to their only visible injury.