00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Schwicky just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

PHP and stuff.

1,108 Views | 12 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

PHP and stuff. 2001-03-31 11:48:40

I was just wondering....

How can I create scripts using PHP/CGI etc.

Im new to that kind of thing and ive already tried downloading things like PHP 4 but once unzipped, the file extention isnt recognized by my computer.

Is there something else I need to create PHP scripts?

Please tell me from the beginning (i.e. the first program i need and the kind of server i need to have.)

Thanks for all your help.

Response to PHP and stuff. 2001-03-31 12:07:31

Go read this post.

Response to PHP and stuff. 2001-03-31 12:35:35

At 3/31/01 12:07 PM, aladinsane wrote: Go read this post.

OK thanks but I still dont know if my server supports PHP, how can I find that out?

Response to PHP and stuff. 2001-03-31 13:30:58

At 3/31/01 12:35 PM, Y2Kalvo wrote:
At 3/31/01 12:07 PM, aladinsane wrote: Go read this post.
OK thanks but I still dont know if my server supports PHP, how can I find that out?

Create a test file called "phpinfo.php3". Here's the steps.

1/. Open notepad.

2/. Copy and paste the following code:

<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>PHP Information</TITLE>
</HEAD>
<BODY>

<? phpinfo(); ?>

</BODY>
</HTML>

3/. Save as phpinfo.php3
4/. Upload to your server and go to that address (http://someplace.com/phpinfo.php3)

You'll need to save it as a .php3 file rather than .php just in case your server is running version 3 of the software. V3 will not parse files with the .php extension correctly, though any variant of version 4 will, and will also parse php3 files.