00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Harrygamer666 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

sleepFacingWest Music Thread

4,067 Views | 50 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Response to sleepFacingWest Music Thread 2020-11-30 11:06:54

Short film cue for when a character is doing some deep thinking to work out a problem.

I'm a composer. I'll make music for you.

Visit my site for my portfolio!

[lofi] hip hop instrumental track #2. The first one was published in my news feed as the melody was based off of a song that was not in the public domain. This one, however, is.

I made an anime loop vid for this one as well! Link in the song post.

Response to sleepFacingWest Music Thread 2020-12-11 13:27:08

[lofi] holiday track #3. I love the melancholy ones, but these jaunty carols are always a bit more of a challenge (at least for me). Old songs like this one (Written in 1857 by Oliver Ditson & Co) tend to have very clearly delineated cadences with dramatic melodies that can sound really hokey in modern contexts. My problem with a lot of modern arrangements of this material is the first part of a phrase can sound interesting, but when it comes time for that turnaround there's a weird disconnect between contemporary sensibilities and old ones. I say, if it's not working, fix it! Most of the time you really only need a few notes of these well known songs to establish that your track is related. One of my most used tricks for approaching stuff like this is to split the melody into cells or little chunks that you can then arrange like lego bricks. That way you can reference the source material with a wink and a nod without having to adhere to the rigid constraints of 1800's song structure.

Response to sleepFacingWest Music Thread 2020-12-16 21:15:25

#4 in the lofi holiday binge.