00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

EggSmash just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Complete beginner.

1,279 Views | 9 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Complete beginner. 2016-10-22 05:33:20

Hey guys, i'm hoping you can help. I actually have two parts to my question.
1. I wanted to start learning to make and produce my own music and i have absolutely no knowledge in this area. where would be a good place to start resource wise, e.g. books, websites, programs etc.

2. if i wanted to find music and good sound effects where are some places i could check out?

thanks for the help.

Response to Complete beginner. 2016-10-22 06:13:55

At 10/22/16 05:33 AM, fs-animations wrote: Hey guys, i'm hoping you can help. I actually have two parts to my question.
1. I wanted to start learning to make and produce my own music and i have absolutely no knowledge in this area. where would be a good place to start resource wise, e.g. books, websites, programs etc.

2. if i wanted to find music and good sound effects where are some places i could check out?

thanks for the help.

So I keep it very short:

1. You are going to need a DAW, there is a lot of them, some free, some not.. I use FL studio, I would say it is relatively noob friendly (and looks nice) and it's probably the most used DAW = tons of tutorials everywhere (this guy for example)

then some music theory basics - I like this guy

and of course all of your time, of trying and failing

2. again, there are tons of packs with various effect samples, "industry standard" for EDM would be vengeance stuff, black octopus, ... usually you just google: (your genre) sample pack

signature

Response to Complete beginner. 2016-10-22 07:54:13

At 10/22/16 05:33 AM, fs-animations wrote: Hey guys, i'm hoping you can help. I actually have two parts to my question.

thanks for the help.