00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

809118566 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Art Critique -- First time

466 Views | 6 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Art Critique -- First time 2015-10-23 04:07:56

So . . . this is my first time asking for a critique here on NG. Thought I do this since I have four art pieces on my profile now.

Anyway, I'm creating a background for my Tumblr page, and I made this piece in a 3-point perspective. Was a pain in the butt, but I need someone's second set of eyes to see if the perspective looks alright.

Art Critique -- First time

At 10/23/15 04:07 AM, VLanimate wrote: So . . . this is my first time asking for a critique here on NG. Thought I do this since I have four art pieces on my profile now.

Anyway, I'm creating a background for my Tumblr page, and I made this piece in a 3-point perspective. Was a pain in the butt, but I need someone's second set of eyes to see if the perspective looks alright.

well, the perspective looks unusual but from the first look i'm pretty sure the perspective is right. depending on what effect you want to achieve, this can be good or bad. without the context of this picture it's hard to tell.
if you want to give everything a heavy, confusing almost depressing feeling you should definitely keep it that way. the perspective, the colours and his reflection really add to that impression.
if that wasn't your goal you should change it though

edit: but you should give his face and hand a second go

Response to Art Critique -- First time 2015-10-23 08:08:55

I'm going to give you a tip that I give myself very often, as it is very hard to neglect.

Don't spend a lot of time on drawings until you have a lot of knowledge about fundamentals, keep making one hour speedpaints and if you can't make it fully rendered... Just do the linedrawing, or basic greyscale.