00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

LOCKdev just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Looking for income options

1,415 Views | 11 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Looking for income options 2015-08-10 12:23:29

Small backstory: I graduated from college, and spent four months trying to get a job only to work for about two-and-a-half months until my team/division lost funding from their parent company. This means that I have to cancel my plans on buying a good copy of Ableton or a full version of FL studio with my own money because all of the budget I originally had planned for anything have now turned into can't spend unless I absolutely have to.

The point is I've thought about doing something like starting a Kickstarter project, but I don't know if it's the right route to go. This is all part of my masterplan on making a small income from music (originally planned to be on the side of a regularly working engineering job). I'm starting to get more of an itch to make music but I don't want to do it with an illegitimate DAW copy and the FL studio demo I have (since I've built a new computer) is quite limiting for making the projects I want to make. I can make small loops with it like the one I have here. This can be a fun challenge to see what I can do in a 4 hour time frame (more or less depending on how much I like to stare at my computer screen in one sitting), but it's too limiting.

So is Kickstarter the way to go or should I look at something else?

TL:DR - Can't seem to get/keep a job and I need outside money to start making money with music. Should I use Kickstarter?

DM me if you want a review!

BBS Signature

Response to Looking for income options 2015-08-10 12:56:25

Have you considered getting a regular part-time job at a Costco near your loation? They're ALWAYS hiring.