00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

edbyrd just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Game development for C++ programmer

507 Views | 4 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Hey guys, I registered on here after nearly 2 years of lurking, and I wanna start developing games for NG.

However, I don't have any experience in game development, so I need your help with choosing the right tool.
I'm mainly a C++ programmer (went to the national competition in my country so I guess I'm good on the theoretical side), and I know C# and Java a little bit.
As for the type of games I want to make - I don't have any preferences, but I don't like Flash games much. So the broader the better.

What should I begin with? Should I continue learning Java, or is there some other path which would be more fitting for me?

Thanks in advance!

I like cats. :3

Response to Game development for C++ programmer 2015-06-20 08:34:33

If you already know C# then you could learn how to use Unity, which is a solid game engine and would allow you to release the games on Newgrounds (you couldn't do that if you made them in C++ without using some kind of converter or something to compile the C++ code into a format that NG would accept).

I wouldn't recommend Java, though. The JVM is poorly designed so it will give you undesirable performance for any kind of game with graphics comparable to games from circa 2004—which aren't exactly, by today's standards, stellar graphics—even if you were to optimise your code.

Alternatively, you could look into HTML5. JavaScript is a pretty easy language to learn—you can learn it here—and ImpactJS is a good game engine. It's worth noting that JavaScript is barely comparable to Java, so I wouldn't go into it expecting a similar experience; it was just a bad name to give the language.