00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

SumMadLad just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Photoshop vs Paint Tool SAI

14,661 Views | 14 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Photoshop vs Paint Tool SAI 2015-04-23 07:08:15

Just curious with is the better program for creating painting with cleaner lines, Photoshop or Paint Tool SAI?

I have been using Photoshop for many years now but have been curious by The Shadling's artwork (warning his art contains adult imagery) and after watching his speed drawing videos I have noticed that for the final line work and shading he is using Paint Tool SAI, I will admit that there are times when using Photoshop where I am re drawing the same line over and over again because it isn’t smooth enough. I use to accept that this can be because of my cheap trust drawing tablet, but there are some people that can make fantastic art with just a mouse.

So could Paint Tool SAI help me create sharper line and another question is how much of a learning curve is there to know how to use the program so I can quickly dive in?

Would love to hear other people’s experience with using either or both these softwares.

BBS Signature

Response to Photoshop vs Paint Tool SAI 2015-04-23 07:09:59

i use sai (never used photoshop) and from my own experience and seeing people using photoshop, sai is a lot more simple, and there really isnt much of a learning curve.

Response to Photoshop vs Paint Tool SAI 2015-04-23 07:39:15

Hello! Welcome to the Newgrounds Art Forum! I think it's a matter of the preference and skill of the person using the program since both SAI and Photoshop are legitimate programs to use art. I'm basically saying that both tools are equally great in their respective traits as an art program and it doesn't really make a difference since the resulting artwork is highly dependent on the artist.