00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

TarikNakich just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Advice for a Beginner?

450 Views | 4 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Advice for a Beginner? 2015-02-04 06:24:46

Hey everyone
So I'm fairly new to animating in flash. Though I do know basic stuff like using graphics, using cameras, and doing lip syncing.
I've started to make videos about experiences I've had in my life (the funny ones at the moment anyway).
I've made two videos so far - an introduction of me and one story, and although I think I have improved even in the space of those two animations, they still feel sort of "dead" if you know what I mean. Like they don't seem lively enough...

So what should I do? Should I maybe abandon my grey-scale style and use colour?
I don't know.
I'm not really sure what to do or how to progress so any advice would be good

Thanks!
Ehronaut

Response to Advice for a Beginner? 2015-02-04 08:19:16

At 2/4/15 06:24 AM, Ehronaut wrote: Hey everyone
So I'm fairly new to animating in flash. Though I do know basic stuff like using graphics, using cameras, and doing lip syncing.
I've started to make videos about experiences I've had in my life (the funny ones at the moment anyway).
I've made two videos so far - an introduction of me and one story, and although I think I have improved even in the space of those two animations, they still feel sort of "dead" if you know what I mean. Like they don't seem lively enough...

So what should I do? Should I maybe abandon my grey-scale style and use colour?
I don't know.
I'm not really sure what to do or how to progress so any advice would be good

Thanks!
Ehronaut

The only problem I see is your animation is too... Static. It's clean, but it's boring to watch. Color won't do much unless you well... Animate the characters more.