00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Boobnoob38 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

1 song % of ad rev you ask for?

1,176 Views | 14 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

1 song % of ad rev you ask for? 2014-07-29 19:41:39

I have been learning to program since the start of the year....long journey so far haha With my first game I just paid for a royalty-free song. The game only made a few dollars across NG and other portals, so this time around I figured I would reach out to the community while I am still an amateur programmer.

How much (percentage) of the ad revenue would you guys charge for one of your songs here on NG? I'm not talking about having to do the work to score for the game. I am talking about using one of your existing songs already on NG.

Just curious what you guys have to say. I'm from a film background and in the film industry - composers usually are paid 1-3% of the films budget (whether it's independent or Hollywood status). I don't have a budget - just a simple guy trying to make simple Flash games. So I look forward to seeing your responses. I've been told by a few artists that I could use their work for free - to just give them credit - but I know most of you are probably not like that (or am I wrong?).

Response to 1 song % of ad rev you ask for? 2014-07-29 20:39:14

You should always discuss it with the composer. Some people (including me) will usually let the other person use it for free, but a general percentage would usually be around 2 - 5% for an existing song and 5 - 10% for a custom-made song. However, technically, no matter how much money you make, if it's commercial you need to discuss an agreement with the composer.

Review Request Club | CHECK THIS OUT | Formerly Supersteph54 | I'm an Audio Moderator. PM me for Audio Portal help.

BBS Signature