00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Ryor just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

needing some help (animation)

629 Views | 7 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

needing some help (animation) 2014-04-18 18:53:52

Hey guys new here, so I'm trying to become an animator and I got myself a wacom intuos pen. So I started drawing some stuff then scanning it and teaching with the tablet. It came out looking really bad but my pencil drawing looks great and so does my work using a,mouse. I guess, my question is how do people like egoraptor get such clear crisp lines and bold colors that pop? Is it my software (gimp) or do I just suck using a, tablet? Also is there a better method to getting my art on the screen? I just want the best way to use my tablet and get my art looking professional. Thanks everyone!

Response to needing some help (animation) 2014-04-18 19:00:33

Oops I meant tracing not teaching

Response to needing some help (animation) 2014-04-18 22:56:22

Tablets take a LOT of getting used to, don't worry. It isn't that you're doing anything wrong, it's just a learning curve. I'm sure when you started with a pencil you weren't making beautiful lines either, right? You learned to be proficient with that tool, and if you stick with your tablet you'll improve there as well. If you look at early work done by any great animator you'll see a lot more shaky lines and lack of precision. It's a practice thing, so keep at it!

BBS Signature

Response to needing some help (animation) 2014-04-18 23:13:03

At 4/18/14 07:00 PM, catastrophic00 wrote: Oops I meant tracing not teaching

well, there are a few ways.
-Don't use the pressure in your pen
-Use pen lines(linetool) and then convert it to a brush and refine the edges
-Thin out lines so the wobbles are not noticeable.