00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Xyphondevi just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Little help with my home "studio"

1,177 Views | 7 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Little help with my home "studio" 2014-01-09 11:32:15

I'll try to make this as quick as possible.
I'm really into starting to compose music (i've played some instruments for many years, but just that)
I've been getting stuff and putting together a home "studio" for basic stuff, at this moment would only be a hobbie and then see what could happen next.
My budget, being a student/half-time employee on a third world country is limited.
I'd like to make almost all kinds of music, well as much genres as possible, but mostly, Metal, and chiptune music.

Being a beginner, i'm not sure if i should invest on a mid-tier pair of monitors, like the Yamaha's HS50M i'm being offered for $300 (good price here in this country) or if i should get cheaper ones (half of money) (AV40)? or if i should get a good MIDI-Controller instead, or an acoustic guitar with a mic??. Or just save for a new PC? Basically, i'd just like to know your opinion.

Right know i've managed to get this stuff.

Instruments:
Guitar: Ibanez RG550
Bass: Fender Jazz MIJ
Focusrite Scarlett 2i4
Old PC with Core 2 Duo 2.0GHZ and 3GB of RAM (Fl Studio and many VSTi's).

The only thing i have to listen what i would do, are shitty $20 headphones, that give me an idea of what i'm listening.
So, do you think i should pull the trigger for the Yamaha monitors? or should i just get some much cheaper speakers like AV40's or Logitech Z623's? or other more important thing first?
Keep in mind, my ears are very untrained and i don't have any kind of acoustic treatment in my room.

I'd really appreciate any opinion!.

Response to Little help with my home "studio" 2014-01-09 13:03:00