00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

MssLibitina just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Unity 2013-06-07 23:05:27

I'm going to be making a game this summer and need a mentor to give me a crash course in Unity and how it works for what I want to do. I want to make a top down shooter with a twist if anyone wanted to know the type of game I was interested in creating; I have no knowledge of Unity or C++ or anything like that, so I would need a full explanation of everything (not a small task, I know).

I'm essentially learning from scratch, and don't have much to offer for incentive to teach me, although I would be open to the idea of collaborating if you happened to like my idea for top down shooter game, if you have anything to offer me, please respond to this topic, or send me a PM and we can communicate further and work out details.

Anything would be appreciated =)

BBS Signature

Response to Unity 2013-06-08 17:50:25

I have some resources you could use to start learning Unity. Although I am not sure if you want to do 2D or 3D, so I'll go ahead and do both.

2D
Gamasutra's 2D with Unity
Hathzynx's YouTube Playlist
WalkerBoys 2D Side Scroller (Mario Clone)
*These are not using a top-down perspective--but will get you accustomed to using Unity and sprites.

3D
Brackey's Survival Game Playlist
JessieEtzler0 YouTube

Your best bet is to post on unity's forums where you can find classes and private instructors who will help you out. Best of luck!

Response to Unity 2013-06-09 22:27:29

At 6/8/13 05:50 PM, navx wrote: I have some resources you could use to start learning Unity.

Thanks, this has helped tremendously.

BBS Signature

Response to Unity 2013-06-14 23:10:23

unity is a game engine that has great potential when creating games.

But the problem is, its not open source.