00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Chan99 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

New At music, please help

1,395 Views | 10 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

New At music, please help 2012-08-12 21:25:20

Hello,

Please bare with me since I am VERY new at creating music. I just had a question. I just wanted to say that it's not something I would like to make a career out of, but I would like to try to create nice music. This is a hard question to ask so please bear with me.

I want to get an electronic keyboard. I know there are options so you can play different sounding instruments(like trumpet, or violin) in the keyboard itself. I also know of programs that have a big set of sounds that you can use. If I attach the electronic keyboard to a program(lets say garage band for example), does using the actual keyboard limit the sounds I am able to use for making music.

In other words, If I use a keyboard with a program. Can the sound contained within the keyboard be the only options I can use to make music? Or can I use the keyboard, pick a sound(in the program)that the keyboard might not have, and then use the keyboard to make music?

So lets say I want to use a robot sound found in garage band, but not found on my electronic keyboard. Can I set it to the robot sound in the program, and then use the actual keyboard to play that sound? Or is it only limited to whatever sound options I have on my keyboard?

I hope this helps, and sorry for the lack of music knowledge. Also if you know of a program that is good for beginners but has a potential to make great music, that would be great.

Thanks again!

Response to New At music, please help 2012-08-12 21:32:43