Ronin-Spirit of the Sword

Share Collapse

Author Comments

I've generalized all the gritty details into a single FAQ. Please read this while the game is loading. Or, at the very least, read the one in the preloader.

9/23/06 After an amazing 3 year run, Ronin is finally falling off top 50 of all time. Thank you for all the reviews and personal e-mails from fans all over. Work on the sequel had just begun - yeah, it's 3 years late, but better late than never right?
5/25/04 (video link down)
6/11/03 Scoreboard is permenantly down
4/20/03 New version 1.1 uploaded.
4/16/03 Ronin made front page. Wow.

Finally, please e-mail bug reports directly to my e-mail address (jamus_se@yahoo.com) and leave comments and complaints on the review board. Enjoy and have fun.


Best. Game. Ever.

This game gotta be the best thing around Newsground, and it´s been around long before the Wii ever came to fruition too.

Move around in dungeon ike maps fighting other samurai, zombies, wolves, shurikens, bamboos, undig treasure vaults.

The fight mechanics involve you moving around, blocking and slashing with your sword and summoning spells via the mouse and it just plain rocks.

To top it off, some amazingly well-drawn manga tells the story between the cutscenes.

Gotta give this game lots of love people!

People find this review helpful!

Well, what a great game.

Even if this game is old, i'd consider it as a masterpiece. Why? Because of the storyline, the gameplay... and the fact that it was in the top 50's in 3 years!

Ah, and for the music in the intro is: .Hack//Sign BT .
the opening theme is: Tsugaru (APPLE MIX)- RevenG VS DE-SIRE
the boss battle theme (red fox battle theme) is DDR - Sakura

Hope it was helpful, it took me a few hours to find them!

People find this review helpful!

dont know why its taken this long to review this

with a mouse, this game is the most fun i've ever had when i was a little kid.

dice bamboo traps, block shurikens, cut dudes in half, fuck ninjas up, watch a ninja chick finger herself, cut up some wolves, find some scrolls, find stuff, find explode-y stuff, and kill red fox.
the arena mode, ive always wished the highscores worked but for some reason never did. but i dont care, i will and always love this game.

People find this review helpful!

It's a great game

But it definitely takes some getting used to... this flash game was way ahead of its time...

People find this review helpful!

The best Newgroungs action-RPG to date.

The gameplay was fairly challenging and rewarding. There was a lot to discover to help your character become a proper bad ass in order to help him mow down the competition even more efficiently. The controls were responsive, especially considering that this game was released long before the DS and the Wii, or the implementation of motion and touch screen controls in the first place.The story itself, while not bad, wasn't all that epic and the hentai was rather superfluous, but no less a pleasant surprise.

People find this review helpful!

Click on an icon to vote on this!

Credits & Info

4.28 / 5.00

Apr 11, 2003
6:03 PM EDT
Adventure - Other
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 15, 2003
  • Review Crew Pick April 15, 2003
  • Daily Feature April 12, 2003