00:00
00:00

Rhythm Doctor

Share Collapse

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Glitchtastic 25 Points

Beat the boss level

Hopeless Romantic 25 Points

A-Rank in Intimate

Mission Accomplished 25 Points

Beat the final level of the demo

Pearl Jam of the Orient 25 Points

A-Rank in Oriental Techno

Wubwubwub 50 Points

A-Rank in Oriental Techno (Hard)

Secrets 100 Points

Unlock the secret stage!

Secret Medal ????? Points

Unlock this medal to learn its secrets!

Author Comments

8/8/16 - Alright fixed! Thanks to Tom Fulp and Psycho Goldfish for such a quick response!

7/8/16 - Holy wow its been a long time. In the past two years Flash did some changes that meant the old version stopped loading songs. I'm gonna update this one soon to make it work here, in the meantime there's a working version at rhythmdr.com!!

5/4/14 - Updated with new BOSS LEVEL! Also: Press CapsLock during a level to toggle an experimental 2-player version. P2 uses the L key. It might make some of the multi-row levels easier ;) (And also, hallelujah Chrome has been updated so there aren't latency problems any more! At least on Windows, dunno about Mac.) Thanks again for the reviews and feedback, it is really nice that a lot of you are enjoying the game.

25/3/14 - GO TO rhythmdr.com FOR NEWER VERSION. I WILL UPDATE THIS ONE WITH BOSS LEVEL AND TWO-PLAYER DROP-IN MODE SOON! (in the next week if possible!!)

10/2/14 - Thank you so much for the reviews and suggestions, we always read each one, and they're what keeps us going!

11/1/13 - Hit window has been tightened up a bit following more playtesting.

10/1/13 - Feedback dialogue upon failing a level is now skippable! Thanks to the suggestions in the comments, and the NG team for featuring the game.

Edit: Thank you for all the kind words people :) We're trying hard to get this game sponsored so we can dole out the full version. So if you liked it, rating this game on the sidebar (even multiple times!) to the left would be very charitable of you and help increase the game's visibility in this Flash jungle. The review scores don't count towards the rating, so if you wrote a review it would doubly help if you rated on the sidebar too. WE LOVE YOU!

Oh, unlocking the secret level involves perfecting a particularly hard level. It's.. for your own good.
--

THIS GAME HAS VERY STRICT TIMING. THE FOLLOWING IS NEEDED TO PLAY ACCURATELY:

Browser: Anything but Chrome (update: Should now work on Chrome if it's the latest version of Chrome! Right click the game and check the version of the Chrome Flash is at least 12.0!)
Flash Player: 11.4 or above

IF YOU INSIST ON USING (an old) CHROME: The Chrome problem is not specific to this game, but affects all games. It's just this game requires a degree of accuracy so high that the tiny lag caused by Chrome's inbuilt Flash Player is enough to throw the timing off. YOU CAN MAKE IT WORK IN CHROME by going to chrome://plugins and disabling all plugins with 'PepperFlash' in the location. This will make it use the normal Flash player like the other browsers, if you have it installed.

IF YOU ARE USING LINUX: The latest Flash version for you is 11.2 which unfortunately doesn't include the amazing sound latency update. The game should still be playable, the only difference being that the audiophiles will notice a 0.1s latency between pressing a key and hearing its sound effect. However if you're used to playing flash games on 11.2 and have never noticed this then it shouldn't affect you! Just press enter at the warning.
--

Rhythm Doctor is a tough ONE-BUTTON rhythm game heavily inspired by Rhythm Heaven!

For those who played Rhythm Heaven, the defining feature of the series is the extremely strict margin of error, compared to any other music game out there. This means many people even realise their rhythm is a little off until they play Rhythm Heaven. My game seeks to emulate that feeling :)

Many. many hours have been spent making the engine accurate. After extensive testing we found a calibration that worked for all browsers except Chrome, which lags due to it using PepperFlash. Enjoy!

Reviews


It's way too hard to beat the first when it's goin' too fast! But other than that it's a terrific game!



This is a really cool game. Except I beat it too easy, so I'm definitely looking forward to a full version.



Game is amazing, just that.



This is a really great rhythm game. It was really difficult to grasp at first, but I just kept coming back for more, and after hours of trial I eventually got really into it. Just goes to show what one can accomplish with effectively three levels. There are some really good ideas here, and I can't wait to see what other crazy shenanigans end up in the ER room in future levels (I personally found operating on multiple patients to be more fun than hard, which isn't to say that it wasn't challenging).


People find this review helpful!

Excellent game but I hate rhythm games because I have perfect rhythm, that's right, and I'm being honest. This has a lag on firefox too. I am pretty sure it would have a tiny lag on any browser, I hit the 'chi' to early according to the game but I know for a fact I'm hitting it dead on for real because I've been doing electronic music, mixing and mastering for ten + years, and play multple instruments. XD I think the only solution is to give a tiny bit of lag lenience in the programming.

No human can be computer perfect.

I've always noticed on music rhythm games games my non-musical friends who are good at visual stuff like shootem ups are better than me, who can play the actual songs on a real guitar. (In like say, guitar hero or etc.) so there is definitely something to it - rhythm games should be playtested by drummers. XD


Click on an icon to vote on this!

Credits & Info

Views
167,229
Faves:
752
Votes
2,486
Score
4.25 / 5.00

Uploaded
Jan 4, 2013
2:04 PM EST
Genre
Rhythm
Tags