00:00
00:00

We're grateful to hopesforall, our latest supporter!

We're 14 people from our target today. Why don't you be one of them?

You can support NG too and get tons of perks for just $2.99.

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Super Mario 63

Share Collapse

Author Comments

Updated November 26th 2012:
The level designer has a few new additions, and is using the new portal. Check it out!

Updated July 23th 2009: Added a mode in the level designer that lets you play other people's levels and vote on them. Also fixed a few glitches.

Updated June 27th 2009: Fixed a few glitches (such as the slide in the basement, etc.) and added in a few more Level Designer Items, such as Level Transitions, Orange Block Switches, etc.

Super Mario 63 is a fan-game inspired by Nintendo's Super Mario 64. Many levels and features are based upon it and other of Nintendo's games, but a variety of them are completely original. Among them include a detailed storyline, ability to play as Luigi, a highly customizable Level Designer with sharable codes, three different FLUDD Power-ups, four different power-caps, and 64 Shine Sprites & 64 Star Coins to collect.

This is the final, complete version of this game. If you have seen this game anywhere else (except on SheezyArt) it probably was taken without permission AND it was the demo version. Only 2 websites have this version of the game.

Also, this game is, for the most part, a remake of the Super Mario Sunshine 64 I made in 2006. After we released the game and came back a few years later, we decided to redo the game with a better engine, more objectives, ect. and this is the product... I kind of went a little overboard, but whatever.

If, while playing, you hear random static noise, we apologize; it is a result of too many sounds being overlapped in flash player therefore overloading some of the less-than-perfect sound cards...

And also, please use the Level Designer. I personally feel that the Level Designer is the best feature.

Controls are explained in game, but we will summarize them here:
Arrow keys: Move around/ jump/ dive
Z : Talk/Ground Pound
X: Spin Attack
C: Use Fludd
Shift: Switch Fludds
P: Pause Game
- Zoom Out
+ Zoom In

If you are having trouble with the Z key, try pressing ALT + SHIFT to switch to the American layout.

Credits are in-game.

Last updated: June 27, 2009

Reviews


Pretty damn awesome.

Definitely the best online Mario game I've played. Not totally seamless, but pretty damn awesome. I did encounter a major glitch early on, where when you're fighting King Bob-omb, if he grabs you while you hit him with one of his bombs, you disappear and can't do anything. While it's not perfect, it's definitely worth playing.



JUST EPIC

This has got to be THE best game i've seen on newgrounds. The graphics are great for a 2D scroller. I hope that someone working for nintendo sees this and takes this idea! Super Mario 64 + Super Mario Sunshine...

This is great work and has obviously been worked on more than any other. You rule dude. You and anyone that helped you eserver to get payed for this stuff!!! to sum it up: I love you man!!! 10/10


People find this review helpful!

Epically awesome

I started my review of this game by nitpicking all of the minor things that annoyed me and explaining how it wasn't as good as Super Mario Galaxy. Then I realized I was comparing a $50 console game made by Nintendo to a free flash game with it only slightly behind! 5/5 & 10/10!

Now onto the nitpicking:

#1 The music selection while good, was a bit limited. I understand the space requirements though, so this is forgiveable. But it's not like there isn't a wealth of awesome Mario music to use if you ever decide to update it with new songs.

#2 There's no running long-jump. I miss this function and the little weird swirly jump he does instead is not a consolation. However, it's not a big deal since the triple jump is still there.

#3 Platforms are a bit too slidy. A tiny bit more friction when walking would have been nice. However, having the FLUDD mitigates this greatly.

#4 The story is weak. Even for a Mario game. My biggest complaint was when Mario got knocked unconscious and Bowser decided to let him escape because "He's my greatest rival and I want some competition." or something like that. Bowser doesn't think of Mario as his rival and definitely woulnd't let him off scott-free. Maybe an "Escape Bowser's Castle" intro level would have been appropriate or maybe Mario got transported randomly instead of knocked out when he was hit and it took him a while to get back. Either way, giving Bowser total power over Mario and then having him let Mario go was a bit annoying. The rest of the story is ok, if a bit too obvious or low brow in places.

#5 All the graphics were good, although a few things felt a bit off and didn't quite look like something in a Mario game. Sometimes it was hard to distinguish what was a background and what wasn't. All in all, it was minor, but it's something to think about in the future. Oh, and why didn't the portraits of Peach have a face? Very odd looking.

Everything else so far is amazing! This game really helps fill the void left by beating Super Mario Galaxy.


People find this review helpful!

my level

50x30~3d*30*0*28*3d*2*0*28*3d*2*0*28*
3d*2*0*28*3d*2*0*28*3d*2*0*28*3d*2*0*
28*3d*2*0*28*3d*2*0*27*3h3d*2*0*26*3h 3d*3*0*25*3h3d*4*0*24*3h3d*5*0*24*3d*
6*0*24*3g3d*5*0*25*3g3d*4*0*26*3g3d*3 *0*27*3g3d*2*0*28*3g3d0*29*3d0*29*3d0 *29*3d0*29*3d0*28*3d*2*0*26*3d*4*0*25 *3i3d*4*0*25*3k3d*4*0*25*3d*5*0*25*3d *5*0*25*3d*5*0*25*3d*35*0*540*~1,64,8 32,0,0,Right|51,155,850,1|51,204,853,
1|51,179,848,1|51,226,850,1|51,247,85 0,1|53,268,842,1|52,115,846,1|51,140,
850,1|53,276,837,1|53,283,827,1|53,26 3,852,1|53,291,817,1|51,306,802,1|51,
326,778,1|51,338,757,1|51,355,746,1|5 2,395,721,1|52,444,734,1|53,470,766,1 |53,492,789,1|53,479,781,1|52,522,809 ,1|52,557,839,1|52,556,816,1|51,598,8 79,1|51,597,864,1|51,592,849,1|51,599 ,841,1|51,617,857,1|51,632,887,1|51,6 52,861,1|53,681,884,1|53,701,879,1|53 ,692,855,1|53,673,855,1|53,709,846,1|
53,651,808,1|53,679,812,1|52,692,780,
1|52,734,772,1|51,797,738,1|51,774,75 7,1|51,810,753,1|51,850,751,1|51,864,
749,1|51,828,728,1|51,844,719,1|51,89 8,752,1|51,882,712,1|6,944,749|52,260 ,795,1|51,302,778,1|53,290,745,1|52,2 49,750,1|53,305,719,1|51,259,713,1~1~
15~Defend the castle^^



pretty good, but whats the music

invades the castle
gameplay is good
reminds of me 64 with fludd


Click on an icon to vote on this!

Credits & Info

Views
6,263,379
Votes
77,833
Score
4.40 / 5.00

Uploaded
Jun 10, 2009
10:09 PM EDT
Genre
Action - Platformer - Hop and Bop
Tags
  • Frontpaged June 12, 2009
  • Review Crew Pick June 16, 2009
  • Daily 2nd Place June 11, 2009
  • Weekly 3rd Place June 16, 2009