Be a Supporter!

Computer Construction Crew

  • 147,780 Views
  • 2,381 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
NekoMika
NekoMika
  • Member since: Jul. 19, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 50
Musician
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2015-08-29 15:49:42 Reply

May post my build later and show pic. XD

mildly confused why an external CD Drive is needed for it to boot correctly

Request Reviews // #8 Reviewer // #2 Audio Reviewer
Audio / Review Moderator - PM with problems or questions

BBS Signature
VicariousE
VicariousE
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 38
Writer
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2015-08-29 17:46:42 Reply

At 8/29/15 03:36 PM, Conal wrote: The AX1200i is connected to my H100i via a Corsair link cable, which then plugs into my motherboard via USB. Aside from voltage efficiency and fan controls, you can change the colour of the lights on the Corsair logo. I set mine to slowly phase from Red, to Green, to Blue, to White, basically all colours. You can set it to change colour depending on temperature. I was going to do that, but it never gets hot, so I changed it to this light show.

Yeah hooking mine up was also an eye opener, but no probs. Whoa, you can change the colors, no shit? I just stuck the driver in and pretty much forgot about it. I was just happy it ramped up and down so smoothly, to keep things cool 'n quiet.

Sure is nice having a quiet as hell computer, minus the video card fan.
My 3 card fans only turn when it's hot enough, and it's very, very quiet. 3 fans spinning is better than 1 fan at 3 times the speed, more surface area always wins.

Yeah, that's my problem, only one fan on the 760, but it's not terribly noisy, but then again my 1st CPU was an Intel P200Mhz and fans on videocards didn't come till much later.

Any more questions?

Nope, happy fragging!

At 8/29/15 03:49 PM, NekoMika wrote: May post my build later and show pic. XD
mildly confused why an external CD Drive is needed for it to boot correctly

After you've got your OS installed, reboot the computer. Once you see the motherboard startup screen, press Delete (or whatever it says) to get to the BIOS screen. Go to Boot Up options, and have your main drive (where the OS is installed) as the first thing booted.


Vault 101 I have many old and deleted Flash submissions, PM me the filename, maybe I got it.
If I'm not here, you can find me racing on GTA: Online, gamertag: VicariousE

BBS Signature
NekoMika
NekoMika
  • Member since: Jul. 19, 2005
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Moderator
Level 50
Musician
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2015-08-29 17:50:07 Reply

At 8/29/15 05:46 PM, VicariousE wrote:
At 8/29/15 03:49 PM, NekoMika wrote: May post my build later and show pic. XD
mildly confused why an external CD Drive is needed for it to boot correctly
After you've got your OS installed, reboot the computer. Once you see the motherboard startup screen, press Delete (or whatever it says) to get to the BIOS screen. Go to Boot Up options, and have your main drive (where the OS is installed) as the first thing booted.

Roommate already tried that, will state there is no bootable device or hangup on a black screen with a _ on it. Very odd indeed.


Request Reviews // #8 Reviewer // #2 Audio Reviewer
Audio / Review Moderator - PM with problems or questions

BBS Signature
VicariousE
VicariousE
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 38
Writer
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2015-08-29 20:24:42 Reply

At 8/29/15 05:50 PM, NekoMika wrote: Roommate already tried that, will state there is no bootable device or hangup on a black screen with a _ on it. Very odd indeed.

An idle (somewhat uninformed) thought: might be a security measure hardwired in. If you have the book that came with the motherboard, there may be something under the security menu, or a physical pin setting on the board that needs to be adjusted... but it's a longshot.


Vault 101 I have many old and deleted Flash submissions, PM me the filename, maybe I got it.
If I'm not here, you can find me racing on GTA: Online, gamertag: VicariousE

BBS Signature
Grub-Xer0
Grub-Xer0
  • Member since: Apr. 8, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 26
Programmer

@VicariousE told me about this group!
Well I guess I should post my machine here too lol
This is my 3rd custom build.

Monitors: (3) ASUS 24" LED VG248QE
PC Case: Corsair Graphite Series CC-9011059-WW White ATX
Motherboard: ASUS X99-PRO LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99
Processor: Intel Core i7-5930K Haswell-E 6-Core 3.5 GHz LGA 2011-v3
Graphics Card: Gigabyte Geforce GTX 980 4GB DDR5
RAM: 2666 Superclocked DDR4 Series (16GB)
Boot Drive: Crucial BX100 CT250BX100SSD1 2.5" 250GB Solid State Drive
Storage: Western Digital Black WD1002FAEX 1TB Hard Drive
Additional Storage: Western Digital WD Green WD30EZRX 3TB Hard Drive
Power Supply: EVGA 110-B2-0850-V1 80 PLUS Bronze 850 W PSU
Keyboard: Razer Anansi
Mouse: Razer Naga
CPU Cooling: EK-Supremacy EVO
GPU Cooling: EK-Thermosphere
Custom Watercooling Loop: EK DCP 2.2 X-RES Pump and Reservoir Combo, PrimoFlex Advanced LRT 3/8in. x 5/8in. Tubing, & 360mm Radiator

Computer Construction Crew


NG UOTD 2/4/11 | Con los terroristas

BBS Signature
Grub-Xer0
Grub-Xer0
  • Member since: Apr. 8, 2004
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 26
Programmer
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2015-09-18 18:57:48 Reply

Double posting because bbs doesn't allow multiple images lol

Computer Construction Crew


NG UOTD 2/4/11 | Con los terroristas

BBS Signature
VicariousE
VicariousE
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 38
Writer
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2015-09-18 20:51:03 Reply

At 9/18/15 06:57 PM, Grub-Xer0 wrote: Double posting because bbs doesn't allow multiple images lol

No problem! I'd like to overclock my Sabertooth 990 FX (version 2, sadly), but am stumped as to which utility to use. The Asus boards of old had something called AI Boost, which worked rather well. There's a version 2 out there, but found it convoluted and dubious...

Also, congratulations on an excellent looking and bonkers fast build! I've been told WD hard drives aren't as reliable as they used to be (also limited warranty compared to Seagate), have you ever experienced a hard drive failure?

I haven't personally, but have a fix: put the drive in a ziplock bag, freeze it for the better part of a day, then mount the drive, boot the computer, and get everything you can off it, to another drive, before it heats up. Works on dodgy bearings, micro-fractures on the board circuitry and/or bad capacitors.


Vault 101 I have many old and deleted Flash submissions, PM me the filename, maybe I got it.
If I'm not here, you can find me racing on GTA: Online, gamertag: VicariousE

BBS Signature
DOOKIEMALLO
DOOKIEMALLO
  • Member since: Mar. 3, 2013
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 03
Programmer
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2015-10-06 15:46:37 Reply

I used to be a computer engineer, I've built several computers. I'm also interested in programming. I'll join this crew.


The color of your skin is your uniform in this ultimate battle for the survival of the West.

BrenTheMan
BrenTheMan
  • Member since: Sep. 8, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2015-10-07 15:13:34 Reply

At 10/5/15 08:19 PM, Conal wrote: Hey, guys. If I have 8 SATA connectors on the same controller, can I put 2 HDDs in RAID-0, while the other SATA connectors have 6 SSDs in a separate RAID-0 setup?

That's totally doable with your setup. I assume you know the risks of using RAID 0 though.

BrenTheMan
BrenTheMan
  • Member since: Sep. 8, 2006
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 05
Blank Slate
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2015-10-11 13:01:26 Reply

At 10/10/15 07:26 PM, Conal wrote: Guys, I've got another probably-obvious-question to ask, before I do something.

Just don't touch the D: drive - in fact, disconnect it during the install to be safe. Once you reinstall, reconnect it and you should have access to it like before. Worst case, you'll have to adjust permissions on the files.

VicariousE
VicariousE
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 38
Writer
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2016-04-21 02:00:17 Reply

At 10/11/15 01:47 PM, Conal wrote:
At 10/11/15 01:01 PM, BrenTheMan wrote:
At 10/10/15 07:26 PM, Conal wrote: Guys, I've got another probably-obvious-question to ask, before I do something.
Just don't touch the D: drive - in fact, disconnect it during the install to be safe.
I might just disconnect it, yeah; it's irrelevant to the new OS if I'm just using it as removable secondary storage anyway.

Once you reinstall, reconnect it and you should have access to it like before. Worst case, you'll have to adjust permissions on the files.
I might connect the secondary storage to another desktop, just to double check it's set up to be interchangeable like that.

So, was it interchangeable? I thought the OS bonded to the mobo's UEFI, or vise versa.

Also, yeah bump... everyone seems to be migrating over to pocket-rocket smartphones, but real gamers use arm loads of tech; an anti-aircraft gun versus small arms fire, no contest in my book.


Vault 101 I have many old and deleted Flash submissions, PM me the filename, maybe I got it.
If I'm not here, you can find me racing on GTA: Online, gamertag: VicariousE

BBS Signature
VicariousE
VicariousE
  • Member since: Feb. 15, 2001
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Supporter
Level 38
Writer
Response to Computer Construction Crew 2016-05-26 02:02:43 Reply

At 5/12/16 07:48 AM, Conal wrote:
At 4/21/16 02:00 AM, VicariousE wrote:
What are you talking about?

Ok, example: A motherboard fries, so you decide to buy an exact replacement. You figure you'll take your WIN 7,8,10 bootable HD/SSD out and run it on the new board. Not so fast! The OS marries itself to the serial number of the motherboard... isn't that what UEFI does?

If you haven't had a problem with this, cool, I was just wondering. I used to build and fix computers from 2000-2006 for fun and profit, and there's a little of me that's always on the lookout for possible hangups.

Just got off the phone w/ a tier 2 computer guy... so yeah it's a thing to worry about w/ out of the box computers, especially HP's, guess it depends, not that many people would be in that situation.


Vault 101 I have many old and deleted Flash submissions, PM me the filename, maybe I got it.
If I'm not here, you can find me racing on GTA: Online, gamertag: VicariousE

BBS Signature