Be a Supporter!

~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~

  • 102,149 Views
  • 2,196 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic
Rocket
Rocket
  • Member since: Nov. 22, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 12:47:18 Reply

At 12/6/10 12:46 PM, Rocket wrote: Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/jfsoftwa/public_html/retrogade/for um_mod.php:1) in /home/jfsoftwa/public_html/retrogade/for um_mod.php on line 177

Nevermind, it did make the changes, but just brings you to that error.


BBS Signature
ShittyKitty
ShittyKitty
  • Member since: Feb. 6, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 12:52:53 Reply

At 12/6/10 12:47 PM, Rocket wrote:
At 12/6/10 12:46 PM, Rocket wrote: Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/jfsoftwa/public_html/retrogade/for um_mod.php:1) in /home/jfsoftwa/public_html/retrogade/for um_mod.php on line 177
Nevermind, it did make the changes, but just brings you to that error.

My bad, I needed to shuffle around some output.

New feature: Posts made since your last visit to a particular forum are marked with a (new) tag (this will eventually be an image).

LethalDosage
LethalDosage
  • Member since: Nov. 19, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 13:53:47 Reply

At 12/6/10 11:15 AM, ShittyKitty wrote: Important note: I probably won't work on the site at all on Tuesday, as I'll be out of the office. WoW's coming out, and I'm having a new kitchen range delivered that day as well (what a coincidence ;-) ).

at least it's all on one day right =p

Heh, yeah, it's actually some pretty simple code:
1) Feed the post into PHP's strip_tags function to remove all HTML tags. Is the stripped post different from the original post? If so, warn the user about HTML tags.
2) Feed the stripped post into my markup parsing function. Does the parsed post contain any [tag]s? If so, warn the user about invalid markup.
Nice and easy, and it'll catch anything that doesn't get parsed correctly.

Im gonna have to start suggesting some crazy shit then lol
and to the other posts you just made - you're making quick progress, like super quick lol all this while you're at work huh ? I dunno whether to call you a hero or a slacker ;]

At 12/6/10 11:36 AM, Rocket wrote: It's a dream, I'm making sure this website gets resurrected if it's the last thing I do lol.

I'll wait til you finish to kill you then =]


Retrogade Art

BBS Signature
LethalDosage
LethalDosage
  • Member since: Nov. 19, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 14:01:32 Reply

also I'll be on aim all day on my old username, if there's shit that needs to be tested quick by a second person you know where to find me

also seed I see you, you post gay youtube videos too much according to what aim says

just saying


Retrogade Art

BBS Signature
Rocket
Rocket
  • Member since: Nov. 22, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 14:42:29 Reply

At 12/6/10 01:53 PM, LethalDosage wrote:
At 12/6/10 11:36 AM, Rocket wrote: It's a dream, I'm making sure this website gets resurrected if it's the last thing I do lol.
I'll wait til you finish to kill you then =]

Thank you for sparing me until then good sir lol

On a side note, I tried putting in the top panel for the login/register/search functions.
If we wanted to go this route, I'm sure Quik could move around the code much more easily than I can.
http://coffeepowered.ca/retrogade/commun ity.html


BBS Signature
ShittyKitty
ShittyKitty
  • Member since: Feb. 6, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 16:43:18 Reply

Image attachments are now available. Maximum filesize is 512KB (at the moment) and there's no dimension limits (large images are resized for attachment previews). Images must be of the following types: JPEG, GIF, PNG, WBMP, XBM, or XPM.

(With my host and HostGator, bandwidth and disk space isn't an issue, so that's why I've got the max set so high)

LethalDosage
LethalDosage
  • Member since: Nov. 19, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 16:52:07 Reply

At 12/6/10 02:42 PM, Rocket wrote: Thank you for sparing me until then good sir lol

I do what I can dude.. I do what I can

At 12/6/10 04:43 PM, ShittyKitty wrote: Image attachments are now available. Maximum filesize is 512KB (at the moment) and there's no dimension limits (large images are resized for attachment previews). Images must be of the following types: JPEG, GIF, PNG, WBMP, XBM, or XPM.
(With my host and HostGator, bandwidth and disk space isn't an issue, so that's why I've got the max set so high)

sick and sick, I like that it covers pngs and shit, good for an art site, also resizing to fit the page is a great idea, I hate going to post a pic and getting stone walled/having to resize the bitch when it's never that important to begin with


Retrogade Art

BBS Signature
LethalDosage
LethalDosage
  • Member since: Nov. 19, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 17:01:00 Reply

Fatal error: Call to undefined function finfo_open() in /home/jfsoftwa/public_html/retrogade/pos t.php on line 45

thought it was cause I was uploading an image but it turned out to be any time I post - dunno if it's cause you're working on it in the bg


Retrogade Art

BBS Signature
Rocket
Rocket
  • Member since: Nov. 22, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 17:10:38 Reply

At 12/6/10 04:52 PM, LethalDosage wrote:
At 12/6/10 02:42 PM, Rocket wrote: Thank you for sparing me until then good sir lol
I do what I can dude.. I do what I can

Although by the way this is going, my death will be in the papers by early 2011

At 12/6/10 04:43 PM, ShittyKitty wrote: Image attachments are now available. Maximum filesize is 512KB (at the moment) and there's no dimension limits (large images are resized for attachment previews). Images must be of the following types: JPEG, GIF, PNG, WBMP, XBM, or XPM.
(With my host and HostGator, bandwidth and disk space isn't an issue, so that's why I've got the max set so high)

I just attempted a .png file, however it told me it was an invalid format.


BBS Signature
ShittyKitty
ShittyKitty
  • Member since: Feb. 6, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 17:20:55 Reply

Bleh, turns out my web host doesn't have the fileinfo extension installed for PHP. That's what I was trying to use to get file type information. My backup method (using a deprecated function) isn't reading PNG files correctly. I'll see if I can find a workaround.

ShittyKitty
ShittyKitty
  • Member since: Feb. 6, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 17:27:50 Reply

At 12/6/10 05:20 PM, ShittyKitty wrote: Bleh, turns out my web host doesn't have the fileinfo extension installed for PHP. That's what I was trying to use to get file type information. My backup method (using a deprecated function) isn't reading PNG files correctly. I'll see if I can find a workaround.

...and now it's fixed. I removed the WBMP, WBM, and WPM file types because, on second thought, I doubt anyone's going to upload those types of images.

ShittyKitty
ShittyKitty
  • Member since: Feb. 6, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 17:29:52 Reply

Alrighty, I'm calling it a day. Hopefully, I'll spend tomorrow relaxing (playing WoW Cata) or stressing out (appliance installation, calling up the insurance company of the person that ran into my car yesterday, helping wife study for finals, etc. etc.) and I'll have more nifty things to show you on Wednesday.

Rocket
Rocket
  • Member since: Nov. 22, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 18:45:10 Reply

At 12/6/10 05:29 PM, ShittyKitty wrote: Alrighty, I'm calling it a day. Hopefully, I'll spend tomorrow relaxing (playing WoW Cata) or stressing out (appliance installation, calling up the insurance company of the person that ran into my car yesterday, helping wife study for finals, etc. etc.) and I'll have more nifty things to show you on Wednesday.

Thanks so much SK for all your work. You've done an amazing job on a project that honestly everyone thought would never see the light of day.
Enjoy!


BBS Signature
QuikFox
QuikFox
  • Member since: Nov. 13, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 47
Artist
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 18:46:47 Reply

I just got home from work and noticed a shit ton on work being done. I've got a little bit of homework I should get done tonight but then I'll start work on replying to this thread and making some adjustments.


BBS Signature
QuikFox
QuikFox
  • Member since: Nov. 13, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 47
Artist
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 20:58:09 Reply

At 12/6/10 09:50 AM, Rocket wrote: I'm using Google Chrome and didn't notice anything

SK, could you show us what you see on the Quick Jump menu; how they don't show up on their own respective line?

I like the idea, however it just feels like there's so much more space that could be used. I can't speak for anyone else but myself. My thoughts.

I saw your centered version and I actually don't mind it as much as I thought I would and it would certainly solve some issues I was having. I personally would prefer something that is a little different but again, this is something that we can very easily change in the CSS without even having to touch the actual page layout.

Haha, again, just my opinion and can't speak for anyone else.

Was there anything specific you liked about that layout, like certain sections or whatever, that I could perhaps work into the new layout? Was it just the overall general appearance?

At 12/6/10 11:36 AM, Rocket wrote: Quik, is there an easier way to contact you?

I was at work all day today but you can always email me at quikfox[at]gmail[dot]com and I'll respond as soon as I get home. But in all honesty I've been logging onto here and RG both before and after work everyday to check on this thread.

Excellent, if you want to write and I can look over with a fine-tooth comb I can. I have no problems there.

That sounds pretty good to me. I'll throw up a little zip file of just a blank page without any of the forum fillers that we can work with and then put in all the content once we get it the way we want it.

Again, I'm using Google Chrome and was having that problem. I have every browser installed on my computer for test purposes. I can check out some alternatives if we can't get it to work completely.

Yeah, if we cant come up with a fix for it I could always make the signin and register box one area which slides down from the top like you did with the top panel thing and then the search just in an area below that. This why they can both be open but they wouldn't cover each other if they were both open. I actually like the idea of having the signin and register box in the same area instead of separate areas. Anybody else concur?

I was actually planning on buying a 1-year to start. Through HostGator, it's 60 bucks for the year, plus a free domain. So I have no problems of buying/funding this project. If you guys don't mind, I can deal with all the financials. Ads, domain, hosting, etc. etc.

I can dump some funds into that, $30~40 right away if you like. You want paypal or something?

At 12/6/10 02:42 PM, Rocket wrote: On a side note, I tried putting in the top panel for the login/register/search functions.
If we wanted to go this route, I'm sure Quik could move around the code much more easily than I can.
http://coffeepowered.ca/retrogade/commun ity.html

I can get something like that working with the current script.aculo.us code I'm using for the pages right now. I'll see what I can whip up.


BBS Signature
QuikFox
QuikFox
  • Member since: Nov. 13, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 47
Artist
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 21:05:01 Reply

The blank template is up.
https://sites.google.com/site/quikfox/


BBS Signature
ShittyKitty
ShittyKitty
  • Member since: Feb. 6, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 21:09:15 Reply

At 12/6/10 08:58 PM, QuikFox wrote:
At 12/6/10 09:50 AM, Rocket wrote: I'm using Google Chrome and didn't notice anything
SK, could you show us what you see on the Quick Jump menu; how they don't show up on their own respective line?

This is what I'm getting with Firefox 3.6.12:

Before clicking on a link: http://jfsoftware.com/images/before.png
After clicking on a link: http://jfsoftware.com/images/after.png

ShittyKitty
ShittyKitty
  • Member since: Feb. 6, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 21:47:35 Reply

At 12/6/10 09:18 PM, citricsquid wrote: you can get a high quality vps for dick all now, no need to stick with shared hosting any more, it's not the only option.

http://linode.com are my favourite, $20/m, requires basic server management but pretty much any one can manage it. freedom to install whatever you want!

Yeah, I had RG running on a VPS for a few months back in the good ol' days. It was nice.

QuikFox
QuikFox
  • Member since: Nov. 13, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 47
Artist
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 23:02:52 Reply

At 12/6/10 09:09 PM, ShittyKitty wrote: This is what I'm getting with Firefox 3.6.12:
Before clicking on a link: http://jfsoftware.com/images/before.png
After clicking on a link: http://jfsoftware.com/images/after.png

Thanks, I posted about this on the testing site you have running. I think it might have something to do with the margins I setup to separate the menu options. I think changing it from margins to padding might solve that issue.


BBS Signature
LethalDosage
LethalDosage
  • Member since: Nov. 19, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-06 23:23:57 Reply

At 12/6/10 11:02 PM, QuikFox wrote: Thanks, I posted about this on the testing site you have running. I think it might have something to do with the margins I setup to separate the menu options. I think changing it from margins to padding might solve that issue.

what about a little 1 pixel by 10 pixel high divider thing, like the ones on the front page of NG dividing featured games categories
"Action | Adventure | Driving | Puzzle | More..."

*realizes this solution might be completely retarded*
as long as I know, right ?


Retrogade Art

BBS Signature
QuikFox
QuikFox
  • Member since: Nov. 13, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 47
Artist
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-07 00:03:46 Reply

At 12/6/10 11:23 PM, LethalDosage wrote: what about a little 1 pixel by 10 pixel high divider thing, like the ones on the front page of NG dividing featured games categories
"Action | Adventure | Driving | Puzzle | More..."

Thats just the "|" character. You know, if you press shift and \.


BBS Signature
LethalDosage
LethalDosage
  • Member since: Nov. 19, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-07 00:22:04 Reply

At 12/7/10 12:03 AM, QuikFox wrote: Thats just the "|" character. You know, if you press shift and \.

hahahaha stfu
xD

I think it's happening because it's a test page, once there's a link behind it I have a feeling it's going to work fine, might fuck up if you tab off of one of them though =/

and I know that's a character, I was able to copy it


Retrogade Art

BBS Signature
ShittyKitty
ShittyKitty
  • Member since: Feb. 6, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-07 01:25:49 Reply

At 12/7/10 12:22 AM, LethalDosage wrote:
At 12/7/10 12:03 AM, QuikFox wrote: Thats just the "|" character. You know, if you press shift and \.
hahahaha stfu
xD

I think it's happening because it's a test page, once there's a link behind it I have a feeling it's going to work fine, might fuck up if you tab off of one of them though =/

and I know that's a character, I was able to copy it

The problems I've been having remain, even if you browse off of that page and browse back later. The problems only go away when you clear the history, so it's probably something to do with the style for visited links.

Rocket
Rocket
  • Member since: Nov. 22, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-07 06:54:47 Reply

At 12/6/10 08:57 AM, ShittyKitty wrote: I have a few requirements for hosting plans:
* PHP 5.3 or greater (although 5.2 would probably work, since that's what the test platform is running on) (preferably with GD enabled for server-side image manipulation)

PhpInfo: http://coffeepowered.ca/phpinfo/phpinfo.
php

It's running 5.2, and while doing research they said they can upgrade to 5.3 upon request.

* MySQL 5 or greater (with phpMyAdmin) and at least one database

MySQL version: 5.1.52
phpMyAdmin version: 3.3.8

* Apache server on a Linux machine

Yes on Linux CentOS

* Preferably cPanel

Yes

* Unlimited subdomains (I like subdomains, and some hosts like to limit them...)

Unlimited

I've got to get ready for work... I'll check the rest of the new posts later on today.

Quik, I saw you said you could put 30-40 towards it, I was going to pay for it all, but if you guys want the servers up right away (rather than the 16th when I get paid) then we can split the cost and get it up at the end of the day if you so choose.

The only bad thing is, someone has retrogade.com so we'd have to look for another domain name... there is newretrogade.com or retrogade.net

Thoughts?


BBS Signature
ShittyKitty
ShittyKitty
  • Member since: Feb. 6, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-07 10:50:33 Reply

At 12/7/10 06:54 AM, Rocket wrote: The only bad thing is, someone has retrogade.com so we'd have to look for another domain name... there is newretrogade.com or retrogade.net

Thoughts?

A year or two ago, we made an attempt at bring back RG, and I got the domain name retrogade.org (and it looks like that one's unclaimed as well).

LethalDosage
LethalDosage
  • Member since: Nov. 19, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-07 11:05:07 Reply

At 12/7/10 01:25 AM, ShittyKitty wrote: The problems I've been having remain, even if you browse off of that page and browse back later. The problems only go away when you clear the history, so it's probably something to do with the style for visited links.

can they be made stationary without the moving effect, or are the already suppose to be static ?
probably best for me to step back and try not to not help here

At 12/7/10 06:54 AM, Rocket wrote: The only bad thing is, someone has retrogade.com so we'd have to look for another domain name... there is newretrogade.com or retrogade.net
Thoughts?

I vote for retrogade.anything, newretrogade sounds like some noob forum board with 40 members


Retrogade Art

BBS Signature
Rocket
Rocket
  • Member since: Nov. 22, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 26
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-07 19:22:25 Reply

At 12/7/10 11:05 AM, LethalDosage wrote: I vote for retrogade.anything, newretrogade sounds like some noob forum board with 40 members

I'll say general consensus is retrogade.org, which is fine by me.


BBS Signature
SeeD419
SeeD419
  • Member since: Mar. 24, 2003
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 27
Programmer
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-08 04:08:22 Reply

Man you guys are doin work! Christ. I can't believe you guys are actually motivated to do this...this is great.

Retrogade.com is taken?? Wtf? Looks like some random bullshit link site...that's just criminal...

No ideas on what else to use because everything else sounds kinda gay. I'm shocked that the web name is taken just for some stupid links...


Minecraft server: alureon.net
PortalWatch 0.1 Alpha - Download
Sig by illicit

BBS Signature
ShittyKitty
ShittyKitty
  • Member since: Feb. 6, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-08 09:58:43 Reply

* Added flood detection (one post per 10 seconds)
* Added minimum post length requirement (basically, if I trim off the whitespace and there's nothing left, it's too short)
* Fixed the "previous post" and "original post" links for all topic pages after page 1

Next up: profile editing and signatures (text and pics)

ShittyKitty
ShittyKitty
  • Member since: Feb. 6, 2002
  • Offline.
Forum Stats
Member
Level 21
Blank Slate
Response to ~~ Retrogade.dot.com.club ~~ 2010-12-08 11:04:49 Reply

Alrighty, accounts can now be edited and you can set signature text and images. Sig text takes the same markup as posts (and has the same validity checks), with a max of 256 characters and 5 lines. Sig images can be up to 256KB, and will be resized if the dimensions are too large. I've also fixed /post/ URLs so that the page automatically scrolls to the requested post.