00:00
00:00

Our goal is for Newgrounds to be ad free for everyone! Become a Supporter today and help make this dream a reality!

How do humans move?

183 Views | 14 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

How do humans move? 2020-06-24 16:31:36

I spent a week or so trying to learn Blender and all. Finally got to rigging, gave my character some bones and could finally move him and animate him.

ONE PROBLEM!

I have no idea how people move. I don't have a clue how to set bones so it looks half decent. Before Blender I studied Gamemaker Studio 2 for 2 weeks, but realized i can't move past the tutorial I finished because I had no sprites, and my stupid ego couldn't cope with my bad drawings, which led me to learn 3D stuff because it needs more knowledge than talent.

If you are an animator, where do you get your reference from? I'd like to understand the movement of those earthlings.

If I were smart enough at 9 I would've made a NG account instead of Facebook. I've used this site for almost a decade, but my stupidness only registered during the pandemic.

Response to How do humans move? 2020-06-25 03:01:49

At 6/24/20 04:31 PM, EinMeister wrote: ONE PROBLEM!
I have no idea how people move. I don't have a clue how to set bones so it looks half decent. Before Blender I studied Gamemaker Studio 2 for 2 weeks, but realized i can't move past the tutorial I finished because I had no sprites, and my stupid ego couldn't cope with my bad drawings, which led me to learn 3D stuff because it needs more knowledge than talent.
If you are an animator, where do you get your reference from? I'd like to understand the movement of those earthlings.

Hi mate,

I'd suggest you get a book on animation.

Could be the Survival Kit by Richard Williams, Character Animation Crash Course by Eric Goldberg or Preston Blair's Advanced Animation.