00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

MatthieuxDancingDead just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Discouraged with solo game dev

679 Views | 17 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Discouraged with solo game dev 2019-10-11 13:40:20

I'm a young hobbyist game dev who works alone. That means that the code, graphics, animations, sfx and music are all on my shoulders to either make or find online. I like to see myself as a jack of all traits who can do all this stuff at least decently.

But the truth is, it's too much for me. I'm not good with audio, nor do I enjoy working on that type of thing. My art skills are limited, and so is my coding. There's often a specific visual or audio thing I want for my game, but I lack the know how to make it myself, and I get frustrated trying. I've had little luck finding good royalty free visuals / audio that's good enough or fits my specific vision. Having to do all this work to get a completed project is overwhelming. What's more, I'm a perfectionist, so I want each aspect of my game to be as good as possible. It's easy to overlook how difficult each profession that goes into gamedev is: sound design, animation, all that stuff takes so much time to become halfway decent at.

I could see myself making games for fun until I'm old, but not if I can't find a different approach to this problem. I'm considering two options:

I could buckle down on my whole “jack of all traits” thing, and take some time to get at least decent with different areas of skill. Visuals, audio design, coding. And get back to making full on projects after a bit of that. I'm not sure if this is worth it, and there's a part of me that would rather focus on getting good at the areas I enjoy.

or