00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Our goal is for Newgrounds to be ad free for everyone! Become a Supporter today and help make this dream a reality!

Is FlashMX current code-compatible?

1,353 Views | 10 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Hi people who know things about code and programming!

I'm a Flash Animator, and the version I use out of preference is Flash MX.

In the not too distant future, I definitely want to make a simple game of some kind when I catch up on all of the projects I've promised to make.

Which leads me to a question...

Is Flash MX something that current programmers know how to work with?

My coding knowledge is pretty close to zero, so aside from knowing how to manipulate and export finished animations into .Swfs and otherwise, I don't know how a Flash Animator would collab with a programmer.

I guess what I'm asking is, if I try to dip my toes into the water with a goofy game, will my .Sfws work in the typical programmer's programs?

Any knowledge any of y'all has is greatly appreciated, but this isn't dire as I'm not even close to being done my other projects. haha

Thanks in advance!

BBS Signature

Response to Is FlashMX current code-compatible? 2018-12-20 18:54:10

At 12/20/18 05:44 AM, Syrupmasterz wrote: Is Flash MX something that current programmers know how to work with?

Probably not. Flash is dead, and furthermore Flash MX is like 15 years old so nobody uses it and, anyway, it's unlikely a developer would want to use any of the Flash suites for development (such as Flash MX or the newer Adobe Flash versions, or the most recent Adobe Animate) as those are intended for animations, not games or development.

At 12/20/18 05:44 AM, Syrupmasterz wrote: My coding knowledge is pretty close to zero, so aside from knowing how to manipulate and export finished animations into .Swfs and otherwise, I don't know how a Flash Animator would collab with a programmer.