00:00
00:00

Making a Choose your own adventure.

499 Views | 3 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

I'm going to start off by saying I'm not shure if this is where I should post this or not. If I did post this in the wrong section just tell me where I should move it.

So reacently I've been wanting to break into the flash game making industry. My two main problems are. A. I don't have the cash for flash. B. I have no formal programming experience. We all have to start somewhere so I've decided to start of as simple as possible. With a zombie survival choose-your-own adventure game.

What I'm trying to shoot for is a simple fifty page story that can be played out in about 15 minutes. I'll take about two days to write up the quick script and program a simple click to progress type game. My main goal is to make this into a series of games each game becoming progressivly more advanced until I have a basic understanding of the principle.

So can someone tell me whats the best way to go about aqquiring flash and learning how to program? I'd like to learn how to do this and get it out there. I think this is a pretty good way to improve both my writing and technical skills. Also I'm not above finding a free copy of flash if you catch my drift. If you can just show me where to find all of this that'd be great. Thanks.

Cubethulhu Creations Head the Call.

Response to Making a Choose your own adventure. 2011-08-27 17:09:44

Acquiring flash:
You can get Flash 8 for few money and it could do the thing you've describe. Better would be to start with actionscript 3. You can get a 30-day trial for free for CS3, 4 and 5.
Later if you are comfortable with code you can say goodbye to the flash environment and go work with a (free) IDE which is a only-code environment. This way you can still make your flash graphics with flash 8 or something which is cheap (you really only need the higher versions for the better actionscript).