00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Proximothegr81 just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

3d Flash animations

552 Views | 4 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

3d Flash animations 2010-05-29 10:10:42

Alrighty then, Hi im completely new to Newrgrounds and have some questions about animation.

Right, iv been working with 3ds max for little over 7 years, and although i am highly proficient with all aspects of that program (and other 3d programs) I am completely useless with flash cs4.
I have the capability to render out all my animations from 3ds max to a swf format, and from tests i have made it seems that a 1000 frame render from Max at a resolution of 490x270 equals to 12.4 meg.

and if i import that swf into flash i can get it down to about 3.9 meg with decent quality.
and considering that the animation i am making will be anywhere from 6000 to 10,000 frames, i can see the size well exceeding the limit for Newgrounds.

so i wanna ask if anyone has tried to make a flash animation with 3ds max, and if so, how they did it and if an animation of my size is practicle.

thanks guys
the picture is two of the low low poly characters im using
left is the commander and right is a generic shock trooper (i'll proboly change the commander so he's more different then the shock trooper)

3d Flash animations

I'm like glass in a way, I'll tare you to shreds if I can't do my job.

BBS Signature

Response to 3d Flash animations 2010-05-29 10:23:34

Flash is completely 2d although can now simulate 3d movement with it so you can't really make a flash animation with a 3d program. Unless you can get the filesize to go under the filesize limit (perhaps by reducing the jpeg quality in the flash settings) then there's no way that you'll be able to submit it.