00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

TwistSSD just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

The Audio Forum Lounge

1,782,337 Views | 34,320 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

Response to The Audio Forum Lounge 2010-06-27 21:46:14

At 6/27/10 09:28 PM, Alfraydo wrote:
At 6/27/10 07:01 PM, Calamaistr wrote: i was wondering, are there more people here that arent making music for money but for music?
I make music out of love, though I wouldn't mind a couple of cents. If you could just click that ad to the left under the voting buttons, that would be great.

Music Theory

I'll admit, I have no knowledge of music theory. My band teacher tried to teach the class one day, but we paid no attention to someone who didn't know what he was doing.

In your opinion, is music theory necessary to learn to make good music? I've heard of artists that knew nothing of musical theory yet were successful nonetheless.

would it be a good idea for a poet to learn some literature? would it be smart for a painter to learn about color, line, form, shape?

Response to The Audio Forum Lounge 2010-06-27 22:06:31

At 6/27/10 09:46 PM, SessileNomad wrote: would it be a good idea for a poet to learn some literature? would it be smart for a painter to learn about color, line, form, shape?

Yes and yes. But would you think it possible for a musician/poet/painter to create good works without knowledge of it?

THIS WORLD IS MADE OF LOVE AND PEACE!

Response to The Audio Forum Lounge 2010-06-28 04:18:44

Not like you NEED it. But it could make your working process much more easier and interesting. You will start experimenting and etc.

I started going to my guitar teacher a month ago, and he is generally teaching me only guitar, but with some music theory. It helps.

Response to The Audio Forum Lounge 2010-06-28 04:31:17