00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

Matilly just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

Artistj's Ska Paintings Collection.

5,243 Views | 66 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

So, I got some Sharpie Oil paint markers for Christmas, and a 20 dollar gift certificate to Micheal's. combined with two "Half off anything" coupons, that had to be used by this weekend.. so I hurried up and bought two large canvases. Because stretching your own canvas is a bitch.

I am going to combine these new oil sharpies with my pre-existing collection of oil based paint. And if my thoughts are correct these oil sharpies should blend with each other and the other oil paints.
I'm not sure how well they'll mix, but art is about experimentation--

Typically, I'm not a painter. Mostly I'm a digital artist, but I thought it might be fun to do a series of paintings for my next apartment. I've wanted to do some "ska" inspired paintings for a while, like, one of each instrument being played.

And I want to document the series, and take comments here, as I go

BBS Signature

Response to Artistj's Ska Paintings Collection. 2008-12-27 03:11:40

These are the canvases I will be using.

BBS Signature

Response to Artistj's Ska Paintings Collection. 2008-12-27 03:16:37

and Ive begun my 1st pencil outline of the drawing. I chose trumpet for the first painting, inspired by the skatalites traditional ska sound. I looked up a ska rythem on google to have the actual notes on the bottom to try and tie the composition together in nice triangular shape.

BBS Signature

Response to Artistj's Ska Paintings Collection. 2008-12-27 04:15:32

Almost time to start adding color.

BBS Signature

Response to Artistj's Ska Paintings Collection. 2008-12-27 05:49:59

and the first splash of paint has been added.

BBS Signature