00:00
00:00
Newgrounds Background Image Theme

wilwz just joined the crew!

We need you on the team, too.

Support Newgrounds and get tons of perks for just $2.99!

Create a Free Account and then..

Become a Supporter!

AS: my jumping engine

4,984 Views | 15 Replies
New Topic Respond to this Topic

AS: my jumping engine 2006-05-15 10:43:07

AS: Main

there have been a few people asking how i make my jumping engines, so i forced myself to write this tutorial.it is also my first.

at the end of the tutorial, you will get something like this: My Jumping Engine
note that the .swf is not a complete game, i just made it for tutorial purposes.

s to jump,
left and right to move.
the red things are enemies (note: i won't be teaching how to make enemies just yet)

if you don't like how the engine looks, or think that i am in no position to make a tutorial because i am a noob, or for whatever reason, then don't bother even reading this, you hear?

first of all, let me explain that i am not going to put exact code, just pseudocode, so you just can't copy and paste, and that i will put code of different use in different onClipEvents to make it easier to understand, so experts, stop saying stuff like "Put that in one onClipEvent!", this is made for beginners, anyway.

so, your first step is to animate your character., fame 1 being the standing frame. add walking left and right animations, and a jumping animation.
then put stuff like this on the character MC named "player":

onClipEvent(enterframe){
if(Key.isDown(Key.RIGHT)&&this._currentfra
me==1){
gotoAndPlay(the frame where he faces right)
}
else if(Key.isDown(Key.LEFT)&this._currentframe
==1){
gotoAndPlay(the frame where he faces left)
}}