Credits & Info

Uploaded
Apr 11, 2003 | 6:03 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice April 15, 2003
  • Review Crew Pick April 15, 2003
  • Daily Feature April 12, 2003

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

I've generalized all the gritty details into a single FAQ. Please read this while the game is loading. Or, at the very least, read the one in the preloader.
http://www.geocities.com
/jamus_se/faq.html

*LATEST UPDATE*
9/23/06 After an amazing 3 year run, Ronin is finally falling off top 50 of all time. Thank you for all the reviews and personal e-mails from fans all over. Work on the sequel had just begun - yeah, it's 3 years late, but better late than never right?
5/25/04 (video link down)
6/11/03 Scoreboard is permenantly down
4/20/03 New version 1.1 uploaded.
4/16/03 Ronin made front page. Wow.

Finally, please e-mail bug reports directly to my e-mail address (jamus_se@yahoo.com) and leave comments and complaints on the review board. Enjoy and have fun.

Reviews


neoinrneoinr

Rated 5 / 5 stars

This game is kewl but wayy too hard on a laptop.

yup



karg1karg1

Rated 5 / 5 stars

A great game to be sure!

This is a really detailed game, with an incredible plot and good gameplay.

it makes me sad to realize that people have forgotten this game.

I still play it to this day.


People find this review helpful!

SotheTheSlothSotheTheSloth

Rated 5 / 5 stars

8 years later...

Still one of the greatest of gems to ever share it's presence with Newgrounds.
I can still remember when this #1 on the top 50 of all time. But now look, we have random screaming and eating birds with fart jokes flowing through the top 50.

What has happened in this time period? Makes me a little sad to know this masterpiece has been forgotten.

The action in this game is intense. It's definitely not a pick up and play either, this is a game where you must take the time to learn properly to do well in. But that's not a bad thing! You feel involved with the character itself swinging the sword skillfully. Difficulty sways very evenly too, but it's never too hard. Not unless you get very far into the action mode, then it becomes overwhelming!

The characters themselves are a joy to see as well. C'mon, a perverted ninja having to be smacked into reality because sex is on his mind more than survival? You don't get that very often anymore. The sounds are excellent and spot on as well. Being able to hear the clash of swords, explosions, and heart pounding music helps create this feeling of a climatic fight. Not to mention as well the menu music is so peaceful. You can fall asleep to it!

Back in the day when hentai would sneak into a game and be accepted greatly, this was in the heyday of the trend. Still, there's something for everyone. They want some nudity? The option is there. If not? No problem, you can hit the off switch. A very considerate gesture to people who would prefer to not see anything.

To hold a 4.25 after 8 years is an unbelievable feat. If there ends up being a page on Newgrounds for "greatest of all time", Ronin-Spirit of the Sword should definitely hold it's place in that honorable page.


People find this review helpful!

MrMoorasMrMooras

Rated 5 / 5 stars

great

i really liked the game, great combat, hentai (XD), labirynth and music is just awesome
but i have one question.. how to change dificulty to hardest?



EnimoreseEnimorese

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars

Fun, but WAY too short

The Combat, for the most part, makes sense. I like what you did with the exploring mode, though I would have liked a slightly farther field of view and the ability to see and possibly avoid certain enemies (not the ninja, though--nobody can see ninja >.>) before I fight them. The Hentai inserts are blatant, perverted and kind of spontaneous, like your game just wasn't long enough so you put in something for Hentai fans, but not all that bad, despite how underplayed it is.
My only real complaint is that it is incredibly short, especially for a game found in the "adventure" section. It needs to be a lot more expansive too, like if you could chose whether you want a Katana, Ninjato, Samurai Club, Naginata, etc. or even have a create-a-character mode (those always get bonus points from me)? Maybe a sequel will be on the way? If one does pop up, will you consider what I mentioned here?

SPOILER ALERT: Here's the names I found for gallery mode: Mai, Makoto, Rei, Red Fox, Ren, Ryoko, Zelda, Yuri. I think there may be more, though.


People find this review helpful!