Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Feb 18, 2003 | 12:12 AM EST
  • Daily Feature February 18, 2003
  • Weekly 4th Place February 18, 2003

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

October 29th update:
Multiplayer version is ONLINE!!

www.digisonline.com/tactics/

Tactics Core is a 100% Flash based game engine for developing Strategy RPGs in Flash. I've created a demo game to show what it can do. You'll find it quite challenging at first, but once you figure out how all the units attack, it'll be much easier. Also, if you're lucky, the most powerful unit, Daemon, might appear on your team! Visit www.digisonline.com for more info!

Thanks all for your feedback =)
As most of you have noticed, I incorporated the turn queueing system from FFT, however the battle system is more reminiscent of DK4, where you acquire many distinct units, each of which has only one specific function to make it easier to learn for a Flash game.

I have exceeded the bandwidth limit on my server so this demo is hosted on Newgrounds now, and the instructions will no longer show while it is loading.

Once again, Thank you Newgrounds =)

Reviews


EthersaladEthersalad

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 25, 2011

Basic Stats Graph

Warning, Spoilers!!!
Also be noted that these estimates on their exact skill ranges were made out of convenience to be 0/6 and if based on a 0/10 or 0/100 scale will differ from the stats I wrote down, but on this basic a scale, you will not see a noticable difference.

Your side: Has one extra character, the Shadowblade Assassin, with less area to attack in and less damage.

Shadowblade Assassin- Close range physical damage
Power: 3/6
Vitality: 3/6
Agility: 6/6
Defense: 1/6
Magic Resist: 1/6
Speed: 5/6
Movement: 5/6

My thoughts: Basic peon. Low damage, very low def, but large movement area. Not sure what Agility has to do with a turn based game, especially when it seems you can't dodge, nor hit multiple times, nor move more than once.

Hunter- Long range physical damage
Power: 3/6
Vitality: 4/6
Agility: 5/6
Defense: 2/6
Magic Resist: 1/6
Speed: 4/6
Movement: 4/6

My thoughts: Basic long range. Would actually be more useful than the Shadowfist Fighter, except that you cannot shoot past friendlies, making (her)him on the same level of usefulness. Movement doesnt mean much when you shoot across most of the screen. Deals 400-500

Shadowfist Fighter- Close range physical damage
Power: 3/6
Vitality: 4/6
Agility: 5/6
Defense: 2/6
Magic Resist: 0/6
Speed: 2/6
Movement: 5/6

My thoughts: A bit stronger, physically, then the peon, so lets call him a pawn. 0 magic defense makes him a big target for mages. Deals 400-500

Mystical Healer- Close range heal
Power: 3/6
Vitality: 3/6
Agility: 3/6
Defense: 2/6
Magic Resist: 3/6
Speed: 3/6
Movement: 4/6

My thoughts: Very average healer, though (s)he typically heals around 800-900 ish. Not sure how her heals are effected on other players since the hp heal is a bit wild.

Ironclad Sentinel- Close range physical damage
Power: 4/6
Vitality: 5/6
Agility: 2/6
Defense: 4/6
Magic Resist: 2/6
Speed: 2/6
Movement: 3/6

My thoughts: He is your.... tank I suppose. Deals 400-600 damage.

Templar Mage- In line magic damage
Power: 5/6
Vitality: 4/6
Agility: 1/6
Defense: 2/6
Magic Resist: 3/6
Speed: 2/6
Movement: 3/6

My thoughts: One of your strongest attackers. Deals 700-900

Red Wizard- Area magic damage
Power: 6/6
Vitality: 4/6
Agility: 0/6
Defense: 1/6
Magic Resist: 5/6
Speed: 1/6
Movement: 3/6

My thoughts: Bar none, your strongest attacker. Deals 1100-1200 damage

Enemy Side- They have 6 members, but have a better range and damage.

Macabre Swordsman- Close range physical damage
Power:
Vitality:
Agility:
Defense:
Magic Resist:
Speed:
Movement:

My thoughts: Decent health though low attack (For their team) 400-600

Talon Soldier- Close range physical damage
Power:
Vitality:
Agility:
Defense:
Magic Resist:
Speed:
Movement:

My thoughts: Tank, high movement rate, high defense, deals 800-900 damage.

Talen Gaurd- In line physical damage
Power:
Vitality:
Agility:
Defense:
Magic Resist:
Speed:
Movement:

My thoughts: Similar to the Hunter in most respects. Deals 500-800 damage.

Cleric- Area heal
Power:
Vitality:
Agility:
Defense:
Magic Resist:
Speed:
Movement:

My thoughts: Unlike our healer who is a close range healer, the cleric can heal in all directions around him(her) up to 3 spaces away.

Templar Striker- In line magic damage
Power:
Vitality:
Agility:
Defense:
Magic Resist:
Speed:
Movement:

My thoughts: Similar to Templar Mage, but more defense.

Mystical Sorceress- Mass area magic damage
Power:
Vitality:
Agility:
Defense:
Magic Resist:
Speed:
Movement:

My thoughts: Its a Red Mage on steriods. The damage is the same but has a wider area of attack(4x4 block). Also immune to magic, though weak to physical damage.


People find this review helpful!

garethsirgarethsir

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 13, 2011

Cool Game

I want a full version game O_O
in it i want u to gieb meh...

More levels
some items
a way to tell friend from foe

otherwise, for a demo, its awesome. 9/10

p.s. Flash FFT FTW :)



RaikunRaikun

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 11, 2010

Awsome Face ^.^

Awsome game makes you think to win took me 4 times to win this cause of that damned enemy cleric, but then again in all RPG's we all get annoyed by that enemy



FoozbongFoozbong

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 11, 2010

Definitely has potential

Too bad its just a demo... The battle system in this is pretty decent. At fist the single attack option and lack of items, was a bit of a downer. But, the variety in specific classes helps make up for it. Graphically it is impressive, the animations are detailed, great job! I would like to see this battle system with some plot around it.


People find this review helpful!

AkivaniaAkivania

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2010

classic

a classic favorite


People find this review helpful!