Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 16, 2003 | 9:17 AM EST
  • Daily Feature January 16, 2003

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

NEW VERSION (19:th Oct 2003)
Check it out now!!!

Let's celibrate the release of the second episode by checking out the new UPDATED verion of THIS movie!

Yaay!!

First off, I know the file size is a bit big - But THIS is WORTH it! And there's a really neat preloader in the meantime.

I have worked on this for more than half a year now. It has taken insane amounts of time and effort to get it done. I'm very happy with the result and hope that you like this cool alien cartoon!

This is the beginning of a series, but due to the work I put into the episodes, I don't think the next one will be out until the summer.

I RESPOND TO ALL REVIEWS!
But I can't reply to all at once. I will do it when ever I find the time. I promise to have it done by the time the next episode is out :) I read them all at once though and I'm thrilled that so many people like the movie and I'll improve from the critisism.

Tell me if you collect all eggs!

Reviews


LAARtALAARtA

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 19, 2003

Mad fun!

I thought it'd be shitty until I heard the Jazzmusic =). Very original. Not much to say. The drawings are good, not great. Still really funny. Mad fun. Make more. =)

~~Kaïnku


People find this review helpful!
McRhyme responds:

Hmm.. thanks. I wonder why you thought it would be bad in the first place?! Stange...


TakkunTakkun

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 20, 2003

Great!

I loved it. I was cracking up....I cant wait for #2...when is it coming out anyway? I hope to see more of your work and music. I play guitar too...not as good as you tho.


McRhyme responds:

Thanks,

playing the guitar is great!


PoorlittlemonkeyPoorlittlemonkey

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 14, 2003

Good to see you're back

Damn this has been out for awhile. Wonder why I never noticed... Didn't need my Disturbed CD on this one so you did a good job with the sound. It had a very nice feel with the jazz music going on. Plus you got the Ytown feel into the flick so all and all you got a 4. Good to have ya back. Do continue to kick ass as usual


People find this review helpful!
McRhyme responds:

Hey monkey, what's up?

I remember when you reviewed all my Ytowb Public episodes and how amazed you were over the last one. That was funny.

You didn't like this one as much though. Or maybe time has risen your standards. Any ho. I'm sure you'll love the second episode of Frofrog. It's very much like YP#6.

Glag you like the music. Much work has been put into it, you know!


Z-RazielZ-Raziel

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 10, 2003

now that's what i call entertaiment

this is a relly nice one indeed, loaded fast, had some nice music, and ofcourse a plot, more flashes like this one should be at the site


People find this review helpful!
McRhyme responds:

Thank you. Yes, more people should spend 6 months without pay, animating will their eyes bleed.

That would be a better world, my friend!

Ahh..


BezmanBezman

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 9, 2003

Hey, remember me! Hehehe

I've got a really fast connection of my own and as Newgrounds is running a bit faster these days, I'm unsure of what exactly the pre-loader is... :(

I really liked the jazzy blues music - it's an excellent composition well performed. :) I also liked the black and white style (although I think it would have gotten boring had you kept it throughout the cartoon - I'm glad you didn't).

The animation in general was fantastic! Y-town already had top-notch animation, but this just takes your work to the level of top-level professional stuff. The scanned backgrounds and animated characters works really well and makes it look further like an old-style disney cartoon. Well, it's maybe not 'quite' as luscious but it's definitely up to that standard. And considering that you're doing this as one man on a single PC rather than hundreds of folk using the latest technology to be nearly up there but not quite is as good as you can expect I think.

I didn't like the idea of finding the eggs at first. I thought it may detract from the cartoon and be a cheap way of getting us to watch it multiple times, but I suppose I can't complain as it's just an option. I got 8 eggs but cheated and had a look at the secret ending anyway.

Quite funny - a shame for it to be hidden away like that. Did you do that music yourself as well? It's really excellent! What did you use?

I really liked the encyclopedia and thanks for telling us a wee bit about how you did the characters! I think I'll try my hand at the same technique, although it probably won't be a patch on your stuff. :) At least not for a while... ;)

Now the plot/humour - the part I thought maybe let the cartoon down slightly. (but only because everything else was so good)

As you may remember, I don't normally laugh that much (although I have been in an extremely giggly mood the past few months...) Still, I spotted far less jokes-per-minute than in either YTown Public 6 or the Rock Opera. Really, the humour isn't a patch on the Rock Opera (I just watched that again just before writing the review) which I think is the funniest thing of yours out of what I've seen.

I suppose though that this maybe isn't meant to be such a silly comedy, and on the level of building the basis for a story, it (just about) works. I am interested to know who the robots are and what they want to do with the girl and what their evil plans are... but I suppose I'll need to wait and see how interesting the rest of the story is.

Knowing you, I'm sure you'll be able to work some wacky storyline.

There's another niggle in the movie - I think that after clicking on the alarm clock you should be able to go back to the main menu. I wanted to look at what extras there were before starting the movie, but there was nothing to tell me that clicking on the alarm clock would force me to watch the movie first.

(side note - in the Rock Opera, if you click to watch the movie before it's loaded, so the loading message comes up then after the movie's loaded you need to right-click and press play yourself. I don't mean to sound condescending but if you wan't, I'll gladly fix it for you. You can just get some movie clip on screen and tell it to make the main timeline play when all the bytes are loaded.)

Overall, whilst the music is truly excellent and the graphics are by far the best I've seen from you, the story isn't. However, it's still an excellent piece overall and is a solid foundation on which you can build what I hope will become another truly great series.

(I also gave you extra credit when deciding the overall score for the encyclopedia and [to a slightly lesser extent] the easter eggs.)


McRhyme responds:

Hi Bezman, of course I remember you! And I want you to know that I really listen and care about your thoughts.

So I will try to reply as well as I possibly can.

The preloader is made for people with slow connections (such as myself). I will get a broadband in some weeks though and will celebrate the occation by releasing the TV version of 'Black Hole - Grog', the second episode 'Chief Leaf and the Chick' and my very own site!

Not bad, huh?

The music, animation and backgrounds in this episode are at a very high level. I'm not joking when I say it takes me 6 months to make an episode. Writing songs, making up characters and planning the plot.

'Detective Frofrog' wasn't meant to be a wacky crazy cartoon like 'Ytown Public'. I wanted the humour to lie in the dialoge. I have now extended that idea and decided to add more crazy cartoon-like stuff to the story. You will see much more things falling and breaking in the new version of this epidode and the next. I hope no one gets mad. I will keep the cool jazzy feel though! Don't you worry.

Yes, the eggs are a cheap way of making people watch it several times. But the most important aspect of the eggs is that they keep the viewers attention to a maximum. If you miss one line in this episode, you will not be able to understand the following jokes.

You compare this episode to the 2 final episodes I made of 'Ytown Public'. That isn't quite fair. You should compare it to 'Ytown Public Original', the first ever YP episode. I am confident that 'Detective Frofrog' #6 will be lightyears cooler that YP#6!

Oh well, I'm off to do some more finishing touches on DF#2!

Email me with the script for loading a movie and making a loading LINE, please. And you pop up in the credits!

Take care!