Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 16, 2002 | 12:04 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice December 18, 2002
  • Daily Feature December 17, 2002

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Patience 5 Points Sit through the long-ass intro.
Backstory 10 Points Discover the backstory.
Dance Party 10 Points Get invited to the dance party!
Domo Hunt 10 Points Find the hidden game.
Fat Bastard 10 Points Bring out the fat man.
Giant Crab Battle 10 Points Encounter the (kinda) giant crab.
Gojira 10 Points Make a new friend!
Squigly Fish 10 Points Find the Squigly Fish!
The Boy 10 Points Dispense of the boy.
The Girl 10 Points Dispense of the girl.
Dragonslayer 25 Points Slay the dragon without getting hurt!
Zero Vengeance 25 Points Beat level one without getting hurt.
A Smasher is You 50 Points Win the game!
Dongle 50 Points You'll know it when you see it!
Fast Smash 50 Points Smash the car in 20 seconds or less.
Penguin Popper 50 Points Destroy 90 Penguins.
Three Eddies 50 Points Bring at least three Eddies to battle!
Flyby Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Lestor Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Here it is. Four months of work between myself and Tom Fulp, all put into one big flash game. This project was originally just going to be a simple one-level game, but it grew into something much more complex. Creating the game in a stream-of-consciousness, we were constantly adding new elements to it. Every time we thought it was "a wrap", we'd come up with something new to add. So, it's pretty safe to say that if creating this game was an exercise in self-restraint... we both failed miserably! (but that's a good thing)

Each level has varied play mechanics, but you can always control Domo-Kun using the arrow keys to move and the 'A' key to attack. So turn on your sound, and prepare to control the most powerful and intimidating force in the universe: DOMO-KUN!

*Note: We've thoroughly tested the game for bugs and think we've caught 'em all. However, should you find a bug, don't hesitate to report it to us!

*Note #2: Thanks to everybody who has shown such great support for this game! Both of us really appreciate it and we're glad you're all having so much fun with it. And for those of you playing more than once, YOU CAN SKIP THE INTRO IF YOU DON'T WANT TO WATCH IT AGAIN SIMPLY BY PRESSING "A" AS DOMO RISES UP! And yes, that dramatic music is by power metal band, "Stratovarius"! \m/

*Note #3: For those of you having trouble defeating the notorious "Red Knights", they're really much easier than you think. First off, don't attack them head-on. They have long swords and Domo has a short stick. You have to come in from above or below them and then just whack away just before they're on top of you (same strategy works on Death Adder). Also, if you can hold onto the fire-breathing dragon that you find earlier in the level, it'll make short work of those knights. Tons of people beat the knights on their first try, so keep practicing, you'll beat 'em sooner or later!

And if the game isn't loading for you here due to all the people playing it on the NG server, you can also play it at: http://www.I-Mockery.com/
minimocks/Domo

Reviews


BlakeMoBlakeMo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 8, 2009

Fun arcade-style game

This is an old-fashioned, side-scrolling, beat-'em-up, and that's how I like them. It's fun to play over and over. Now:
COMPLETE MEDAL WALKTHROUGH (In order up above):
Patience: Just watch the intro
Backstory: After the intro (on the insert coin screen), just wait. Now some reviews say to right click and click Play, but it didn't work for me.
Dance Party: After beating the game, during the credits, click the drummer.
Domo Hunt: During the Golden Axe stage, when you drop down to ride the dragon, beat the crap out of the eagle's eye
Fat Bastard: After the credits, when the elves come, hit the left side of the sign that says Turtle Village, after a few hits, the fat man comes out.
Crab Battle: When you start the game, click the tank/cage type thing to the left of the Slayer poster. (This is at the scene where Bubbles talks to Domo)
Gojira: At the scene where you beat up the car, hit Buttercup (the green one).
Squigly Fish: Credits: click the fish above Domo
The Boy: G. Axe stage, hit the boy at beginning.
The Girl: See above, but hit girl instead.
Dragonslayer: Kill the dragon without dying. Some say you can right click and press Play, but I tried and it didn't work.
Zero Vengeance: Beat the first stage without missing a PP Girl (Don't take any damage). NOTE: You will probably have to give up the Three Eddies achievement the first time you play to get this one.
A Smasher is You: Beat the game.
Dongle: Beat the game twice, and you'll recieve an extra magic stick
Fast Smash: Smash the car in 20 seconds or less
Penguin Popper: Kill at least 90 penguins after you defeat the dragon.
Three Eddies: At the first stage, hit the orange traffic cones. When you do, the character from Balloon Fighter will drop things. Occasionally, he drops Eddies (from the Megaman series), it is important that you do NOT hit them. When you get 3, you'll get the achievement. These guys act as shields during the air stage. Note that you will have to sacrifice some health to get this.
Flyby: Knock all 3 Powerpuff Girls into the water during the car smash stage.
Lestor: During the "crab battle" scene, once it's over and you have the choice to play or start over, click the crab.

Hopefully those cover it. You'll have to play the game probably at least 3 times to get all the achievements. Read the description for tips on the Red Knights and Death Adder. I really enjoyed this game, it's an oldy but goody. When you talk about historic games on Newgrounds, this is one that belongs in that conversation.
Great job.

Censored-ly
-Blakemo
(Wow my longest review ever)


Lots of people find this review helpful!

ClockNaziClockNazi

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 1, 2006

Good

I enjoyed this game very much!



FUOLDMANFUOLDMAN

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 8, 2003

Great game

I loved this game, it reminded me of the glory days of my NES. I thought the last guy was a little hard but it was incredibly fun anyway.



hottiepregohottieprego

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 21, 2006

it was pretty good

the first bit wasn't to bad hard but you get the hang of it it took me 3 tries to beat the first level but the end of the second level is crazy it is almost impossoble!



XbalanqueXbalanque

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 2, 2004

Whoa

Man this is stupid. I don't get half the things this game is spoofing.

And what is the point of giving me a dragon when some guy is just going to dive-kick me off it, gangrape me, and scare the dragon off 10 seconds after I get it?

That said, still funny and beautiful gameplay.