Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 9, 2014 | 1:09 AM EDT

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

FRONT PAGE?! THANK YOU SO MUCH!! I grew up playing on Newgrounds, and to have something appear front page is pretty surreal! Thanks!

[SAFARI DISCLAIMER: I'm getting word of Safari not being capable of loading this game for some reason. I'm about to ask the Construct 2 forums about this issue, but for reference right now, each person I've spoken with who experienced the issue has been able to run the game using a different browser, be it Chrome, Firefox, or (yep) IE. I'm thinking it might just be a Safari-Construct 2 compatibility thing.]

[Update: 6/21/14: Pretty game-breaking bug fixed where 'Sleep' button would disappear if monitor tabs were changed. Thanks to Sharpnova for all the help trying to narrow down the problem!]

[Update: 6/20/14: A request for the music has been made. The mp3 is here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/srk7bu41ogpu6ly/E.Den%20Title.mp3 You can use it, listen to it as you wish, but if you use it in a game or video, please make it known where the music came from! =)]

[Update 6/15/14:

Updated the monitor screen in the beginning to attempt to make starting the game clearer.]

[UPDATE 6/13/14:

I've heard your voices, and added an "endless mode" that gives the player infinite time to explore and find materials! Once you've beaten this mode, feel free to try to challenge yourself against the timer when you know where to find the objects. (I promise hard is possible to beat.) - Scott ]

Thank you for all of the feedback!!

Hey everyone! Thanks for playing! This is my very first game, and it's not flawless, but I hope you like it! - Scott

Earth has fallen to ruin, as nuclear war broke out. A few Environmental Dens were created to help keep life going and weather out the disaster.

You are Wald-0, a sentient robot who is tasked with preparing the E. Den, however your battery is running out.

Race against the clock to gather the ingredients and keep life alive!

Controls:

A - Move left
D - Move right
W - Jump
S - Interact with certain objects and climb stairs
I - Open inventory
Left Click - Select menu options, pick up items.
Right Click - Smash

Tumblr! http://crabrabbitstudios.tumblr.com/
Twitter! https://twitter.com/TheCrabRabbit
Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/CrabRabbitStudios

Reviews


bIuecrimsonbIuecrimson

Rated 2 / 5 stars June 21, 2014

The diffiulty should be automatically set on easy, especialy because the narrative (limited energy) requires the time limit.

I think it's better if you let the player start immediately and teach them as they play. You did this with how to move a barrel, but that used similar colours together. Maybe it would have been too easy that way, but it wasn't a hard game either way. If you know how to attack, it's as good as a tutorial so pointing out something you can break but doesn't yield anything would help without preogressing.

Instead of being forced to go back and forth to learn new objectives, it would have been better to have a handheld computer to tell you what to do next and while still able to move. Then the only reason to go back is to make and observe the creation of the garden.

So I decided to block the entrance to the garden when I was put to sleep.


People find this review helpful!
CrabRabbit responds:

Thanks for the review! I'll definitely keep those ideas in mind for the future.

Originally Easy was the default mode, and I didn't have an Endless. People were mentioning in their reviews how it was sort of an adverse addition to the aspect of an exploratory game, and it made sense, so I added Endless and threw it on as default. This way I could avoid players being upset by running out of time, and make the game overall a more enjoyable experience for those who took longer to experience the game.

I definitely agree with the gradual mechanics introduction, and I'll be sure to use that in the future. That's one of the things I haven't gotten around to changing, but if I end up making an E. Den 2, I'll utilize.

I also get what you're saying about the Garden, and I probably could have made it more interactive, or came up with more of a use gameplay-wise for it. I wanted to have it to help with the story-telling, and to allow the player to see the things they built, rather than simply pressing an "okay" button and that being the end of it.

The reasons it's not that complex of a game are because it's my first one, and I only had three weeks notice to finish the whole thing for the Construct 2 GameJam. I look forward to making more involved games in the future though!

Again, thanks for the feedback!


PsdonymPsdonym

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 21, 2014

I personally think that the game could be pretty great. It's pretty straight forward, but it is indeed challenging. You're given a list of tasks to complete, but you aren't forced to complete them necessarily in that specific order so it doesn't feel too confined. I also see that this is your first. I honestly wouldn't have guessed that. Taking that into consideration, you definitely deserve a kudos and good luck with your future endeavors.


People find this review helpful!
CrabRabbit responds:

Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I'm really looking forward to taking what I've learned from this experience and applying it to future games!


24forChromium24forChromium

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 20, 2014

This could have been much better had there resource management or strategy-demanding things as such, I feel like this is just here to fill the category of 2030, it's hard to make a good game if you are just doing it for the sake of a category.


People find this review helpful!
CrabRabbit responds:

Thanks for the review!

I definitely concede that there could be much more done to flesh this game out, and I look forward to updating it in the future. It's my first attempt at a game, and I found out about the GameJam with 2 weeks to go.

I'm considering making a sequel (or prequel) which will have WAY more to do, and be more exploration and puzzle based.

Wald-0 is actually a character from a different (full length) game I'm working on!


ajsheppyajsheppy

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 20, 2014

I like the jelly legged children.


People find this review helpful!
CrabRabbit responds:

They like you too!


CheeserofdoomCheeserofdoom

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 20, 2014

This game was really fun the first time through, but I thought, "Hey, why not try hard mode? What could be so hard about it?" Then, I got way more invested then I should have. Long story short, I beat it on hard with 13 seconds remaining. The key was figuring out the extra sources of energy ;) Fun game!


People find this review helpful!
CrabRabbit responds:

That's exactly the response I was hoping for with the timer! I'm really glad you liked it.

Congratulations on beating hard mode!